Connie Townsend & the Ginsangers | Feast of St. Martin

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Bonnie Raitt Emmylou Harris Lucinda Williams

More Artists From
United States - West Virginia

Other Genres You Will Love
Blues: Jazzy Blues Rock: Americana Moods: Type: Vocal
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Feast of St. Martin

by Connie Townsend & the Ginsangers

The newest album from Connie Townsend and the Ginsangers, Feast of St. Martin, is very much like a live Ginsangers performance. The songs are varied in flavor and feel, ranging from the contemporary folk sound of Circus Came To Town to the rootsy country Who's Gonna Hold You Now. Then, at an intersection that's easy to miss, perhaps in a New Orleans neighborhood, the music takes a turn and drives straight across the magic bridge to Simone Found Herself A Russian, Smoke, Beer and Spices and Leather Seats, the opening track. As the Ginsangers cross the bridge in Russell's big smooth car the sounds of roots rock, jazz and a hint of gospel music begin to spill from the windows. Feast of St. Martin is a harvest from new fields, tilled and tended by Connie and the band. Several of the tunes have that particular sound that is recognized as the work of Connie Townsend and her partner, Dave Parker. Parker and Townsend have a history of strong songwriting that has received national recogni
Genre: Blues: Jazzy Blues
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Leather Seats
2:56 $0.99
2. Gold High Heels
2:52 $0.99
3. Purgatory
3:29 $0.99
4. Simone Found Herself a Russian
3:19 $0.99
5. Dumaine Street
2:51 $0.99
6. Talking to Jesus
3:58 $0.99
7. Who's Gonna Hold You Now?
3:11 $0.99
8. Sheila Lablanc
5:06 $0.99
9. Feast of St. Martin
4:47 $0.99
10. Beer & Spices
3:27 $0.99
11. Riding On the Notes
4:52 $0.99
12. Circus Came to Town
4:21 $0.99
13. Which Way Is Heaven?
2:48 $0.99
14. Smoke
3:24 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Song Descriptions:
1. Leather Seats – A pocket full of twenties, a roll of quarters and a set of new tires carry
Russell toward Houston. Tanya knows Russell is chasing The Dream, Russell is the dream. She thinks , Hey, what the heck. She can’t find that dream on the map but she knows they have to go. Great road groove on this. Uh huh, it’s a roots rock tune.

2. Gold High Heels – Friday night at El Gran Sabor and everyone is looking for something better than lonely. Some find it, some don’t, some are so caught up in themselves they don’t know if they’ve found it or not. Not roots rock…. Does El Gran Sabor sound roots rock to you?

3. Purgatory – With apologies to John Prine, this song is Sam Stone, Book II. It’s about living after the world you knew has rained down around you like a broken stained glass window and you’re having to find a way into a new reality. Partly by chance, partly by effort, partly by grace. It’s the reality you keep in the back room of your life if you live with PTSD. Sometimes it insists on being in the living room. It ain’t morbid. The song has a rock kind of drive to it. To quote one reviewer, “That song is f------ awesome!”

4. Simone Found Herself A Russian – Vladimir? Russian mafia and about to take a runner. Simone? Looking for a new life – A REAL NEW LIFE. Painted just like that on the side of a brick building. That damn big! She was ready to breath in a different key. And there’s a crystal ball and absinthe. This tune has a cool swing, a jazz vibe.

5. Dumaine Street – The business of dreams, lost and found, is serious and therefore must be, at the same time, humorous or we couldn’t bear it. This is about a dream lost or thrown away on Dumaine Street. Has some bop to it.

6. Talking to Jesus – Yeah, this one’s serious. About as serious as blood diamonds, warlords and the destruction of a country for power and blood-soaked wealth. It’s the real deal and has some heart to it. The percussion really lays under this one.

7. Who’s Gonna Hold You Now? – This is a country break-up song that has some grit to it but no pedal steel.

8. Sheila LeBlanc – The song has a quiet and elegant simplicity, much as does Sheila LeBlanc herself. It’s about treasures lost, grieving, and living the moments with gracious patience until……

9. Feast of St. Martin – Is a marriage of New Orleans Catholicism and the evangelical African-American Church. Clap your hands and stamp your feet. This tune rocks, even while your mind says, Whoa! Where are we going?

10. Beer and Spices – For and about everyone everywhere who’s worked in a hard and invisible job, keeping on because that’s we have to do, keep on keeping on. And in the middle of that, finding a moment that transforms the ordinary into the magical. Drive away that cloud that’s hanging over you! Bluesy roots rock.

11. Riding On the Notes – The life that is a city, past, present, future, stitched together with brightly colored threads that weave through culture and the human stuff in all their dimensions. The colors of the tapestry are rich and evocative. This one hops, bops, pops and moves in its own unique way.

12. Circus Came to Town – This is an older tune never released on an album. People love it. It’s a song spun from living in an old railroad town, a West Virginia short story and a collision with a carnival truck. It’s a sweet tune and a love song.

13. Which Way is Heaven – Is a country falling-in-love song, not a country break-up song. And it rocks a little. And when your country friends come over and scratch their heads at Simone Found Herself A Russian, you can play this song for them and they’ll relax. They’ll probably open another beer and then relax.

14. Smoke – Yup, we’re closing the album with Smoke. This is a song of the human heart that is poignant and honest, “I don’t want to be smoke, drifting lazy into the night, over two cups of black coffee…” It’s swingy. It’s a mellow Bob Wills-in-the-21st Century-kinda-tune.

© Wild Ginsang Music 2012



to write a review