Recommended if You Like
Etta James The Grateful Dead Little Feat

Genres You Will Love
Moods: Mood: Fun Rock: Jam-band Urban/R&B: Southern Soul Country: Bluegrass Rock: Roots Rock

By Location
United States - Texas

Flounders Without Eyes - Official Web Site Flounders Without Eyes - Facebook Page Sell your music everywhere

Flounders Without Eyes

Flounders consists of six talented musicians, all steeped in roots rock, Americana, bluegrass, soul, and even jazz, who come together to form a whole that is much greater than the sum of its parts. Founded in Austin, Texas in the early 90's by bassist Joe Mier and guitarists Don Baker and Mitch Derrick (who coined the name "Flounders Without Eyes" - a term for a large Texas mushroom), Flounders was instrumental (pun intended) in creating the Austin jam band scene, and it was through their "Grateful Dead Thursday Nights" at The White Rabbit that they also built a following for their original music.

The founding members were joined by Jenny Mier, Joe's sister, whose sultry vocals call to mind such R&B/soul divas as Etta James and Koko Taylor, and the band's "signature sound" was born. Andy Markoff, originally the percussionist, became the full-time drummer, completing the line-up for Flounders' first album, "Movin On", which was produced and engineered by Mike Morgan. Mike took over on rhythm guitar when Mitch moved to Houston in the late 90's, and he took his place among the band's talented musicians and songwriters for Flounders' second album, "What Will It Bring". This is the album in which Flounders truly hits their stride. Most of the songs were written by multiple members of the band rather than by individual songwriters, Jenny's pipes are placed squarely in the spotlight, and Flounders propels itself beyond its jam band origins and into a sound that practically deserves its own category in the record rack.

Flounders spun off two satellite projects, Hip Shakin' Mamas and Rhythmic Statues, in the early 2000's. With the addition of keyboardist Sam Hendricks (David Allan Coe, Joy Boy Adams), both groups joined back together in 2004 to record "Rhythmic Statues", an album that, for the first time, injects elements of Americana into a sound that had previously been dominated by roots rock and blues. Building upon this new addition to the Flounders sound, "What's the Rush" is a primarily acoustic album, consisting of original Americana/bluegrass songs penned by the band and lovingly produced by Grammy Award winner Lloyd Maines.

Pianist/keyboardist/songwriter D. R. Commander (Akina Adderley and the Vintage Playboys, The Harmony Theory) joined Flounders in 2010, lending a Bruce Hornsby and Billy Payne-inspired vibe to the band's sound. He appears on the "Live at Old Settlers Music Festival 2010" album, which features legendary drummer Jamie Oldaker (Eric Clapton, Bob Seger) and a guest appearance by Peter Rowan.

In early 2013, Mitch Derrick and Sam Hendricks returned to the band, replacing Morgan and Commander, who had moved on to become members of Peter Rowan's Twang an' Groove.