Recommended if You Like
Vivanativa La Secta All Star Black Guayaba

Genres You Will Love
Latin: Rock en Espanol Rock: Latin Rock Rock: Rock en Español Moods: Mood: Upbeat Moods: Featuring Guitar

By Location
Puerto Rico US

Facebook Page Band Website Sell your music everywhere

Niño Planeta

Ex-Materia Prima drummer Ernesto Padilla formed Niño Planeta in 2000. Named after an imaginary superhero who plans to save the world, the Puerto Rican rock en español band was joined by ex-Sol D' Menta singer Ricardo Díaz (aka Ricky), ex-La Pinta guitarist Josué Díaz (aka El Mapache), ex-Kama Project bassist Humberto Cruz (aka Kama), and guitarist Alcides Muñiz (who decided to pursue a music career after graduated from a local university, holding a chemistry engineering degree).

Niño Planeta debuted with the release of a self-titled album released by Voz Futura Records in February 2001 and quickly followed with the release in 2002 of "Niño Planeta 2.0". The albums were recorded and produced by Mike Rorick in Select Sound Studios in Buffalo, New York. "Niño Planeta" and "Niño Planeta 2.0" sold extremely well in Puerto Rico and the US independently supported by the P.R No.1 hit "A Fuego Lento" and even squeezed a couple of college radio hits in the US in towns of Arizona, Texas, New York, Florida, Chicago, Alabama and California.

After a great run in 2002-2003 touring in California and Arizona, Ricky and Josue depart from the band, but the boys returned to the studio in 2004 once again under the wing of Mike Rorick to record "NO HAY VUELTA ATRAS" with Danny Fraticelli on vocals. With the hope of hitting the international markets, they broke in with the hit "La Mentira" thanks to MTV-es and the TV airways. The album was release worldwide thru Universal Music Latino. The international success of this release was shadowed by the surge of other Latin styles in Puerto Rico. After finishing a successful national tour the band decides to take a break for good.

2006 brings back two founding members, brothers Ricky and Josué Diaz, and new to the lineup is Gabriel Quintana on keyboards. Recording began early in 2006 for their 4th studio album "Rebirth", released in December 2006 thru VozFutura Records.

In 2008 they recorded the song "La Mancha" for the tribute album of one of the most important rock acts of Puerto Rico, La Mancha del Jardin. The song is completely different from anything they have recorded before introducing more ska & punk oriented sounds.

A greatest hits album was released by VozFutura Records thru iTunes "Que seas feliz... 15 grandes exitos" in 2009. It included the best of the best with Ricky at the mic. In 2001 the album "No hay vuelta atras" with Danny Fraticelli on vocals, originally released thru Universal Music Latino, was remastered & reissued in iTunes separately.

2018 saw a full return of the band with the release of the singles Sueño Contigo and their brand new 2018 recording "Ya se quien eres tu". Currently the band is playing the local Puerto Rico band circuit planning their next recording sessions in follow up to "Ya se quien eres tu".