Recommended if You Like
Michael Brecker Snarky Puppy Stevie Wonder

Genres You Will Love
Moods: Mood: Virtuoso Jazz: Contemporary Jazz Jazz: Soul-Jazz

By Location

Official website (opens in October 2017) Facebook page Twitter page Instagram page Youtube channel Sell your music everywhere

Soul What?

Soul What? feat. Joonatan Rautio is a super-energetic and virtuosic soul/jazz quintet from Finland. Soul What? was founded in 2008 and has since 2013 been collaborating with saxophone player Joonatan Rautio. Soul What? released their debut album "The Silver Lining" in 2013 and in 2016 Soul What? Feat. Joonatan Rautio released the album titled “What Lies Ahead”. Intensive live energy, shrilling improvisations, soulful vocals and explosive drumming is what audience around Finland have experienced on the groups past gigs. Soulful singer/pianist Mikael Svarvar, intuitive and explosive drummer Toni Porthén, inventive guitarist Martin Söderbacka and powerful bass player/bandleader Eevalotta Matikainen form Soul What?. Their repertoire consists of original music, both vocal pieces and instrumental tunes. Together with one of Finlands foremost jazz musician and internationally appreciated saxophone virtuoso, Joonatan Rautio, the group offers you music you won’t soon forget.

Joonatan Rautio is one of the most appreciated jazz musicians in Finland as well as on the international scene. When playing with Soul What? he brings a strong jazz tradition to the group and gives solo improvisations a boost through his energy and innovative use of the saxophone. Joonatan challenges the band members to a musical race which gives Soul What? a new level of energy and forces the band to encounter challenging musical situations. Joonatan has performed with many top Finnish and International musicians and artists, including Jim Beard, Randy Brecker, Adam Nussbaum, Jeff "Tain" Watts, Jon Balke, Mike Stern, Chris Minh Doky, Jukkis Uotila, Lars Danielsson, Anders Jormin and Peter Erskine to name a few.

Soul What? Feat. Joonatan Rautio
Joonatan Rautio - saxophone
Mikael Svarvar - vocals, wurlizer, grand piano
Martin Söderbacka - guitar
Toni Porthén - drums
Eevalotta Matikainen - bass, band leader