Recommended if You Like
Beck Elliott Smith Feist

Genres You Will Love
Pop: Chamber Pop Moods: Type: Experimental Folk: Folk-Jazz Folk: Modern Folk Moods: Mood: Dreamy

By Location
United States - New York United States - NY - New York City

Myspace Page Facebook Page Sell your music everywhere

The Snow

The Snow is a cinematic literary-pop quartet from Brooklyn, New York. It began when Pierre de Gaillande and Hilary Downes collaborated on made-to-order songs written as wedding gifts and birthday presents. The songs evolved into a project, which eventually led to an invitation to a midsummer tour of Russia, Sweden and Finland with musician friends who needed an opening act.

The Snow's influences are as diverse as its sound – having been described in turns as post-apocalyptic French cabaret, gypsy pop, and carnival Americana. The band is comprised of de Gaillande (Bad Reputation, Melomane, Morning Glories) on vocals, guitar and banjo; Downes on vocals and keys; Jeffrey Schaeffer on drums and Christian Bongers (Falcon, Hurricane Bells) on electric and upright bass.

The band's gorgeous debut, True Dirt was recorded and mixed at Trout Studios by acclaimed producer Bryce Goggin (Pavement, Apples in Stereo, Sean Lennon, Evan Dando, Sebadoh) and was released on Vermillion Music in the spring of 2008. Their follow-up, I Die Every Night, was released in early 2010, recorded by Shannon Ferguson at Serious Business Studios in New York.  Additional tracking was done with Daniel Weintraub in New York.
The Snow returns for a third outing, Disaster is Your Mistress, its most complex and lushly orchestrated album to date. Veteran engineer Charles ‘Chicky’ Reeves (Radiohead, Ray Charles, Johnny Cash, Tito Puente) navigates haunting classical flourishes, Motown horns and Beatlesque pop soundscapes to take the listener on an unexpected sonic journey.  Think of Serge Gainsbourg hitching a ride with Carole King and Fiona Apple in a boat atop rolling rapids of champagne.