Recommended if You Like
James Taylor Kenny Loggins Michael Buble

Genres You Will Love
Moods: Mood: Christmas Folk: Folk-Rock Spiritual: Hymns Pop: Pop/Rock Holiday: Pop

By Location
United States - Maine Sell your music everywhere

Dan Merrill

Cornerstone ( 1982-1992) was a regional touring band in the northeast of the United States. They were based in state of Maine and played throughout New England and the Canadian Maritimes. They were known for professional musicianship, strong vocals harmonies, and energetic 80's style stage shows with large audio, lighting production and even pyrotechnics. They covered music from Styx, Toto, Yes, Steely Dan, Jefferson Starship, Duran Duran, Little River Band, Bryan Adams, Huey Lewis and the News etc, meanwhile writing and performing original songs in similar styles.

A list of all band members:

Founding members in 1982:
Larry Crowley- guitars, keyboard and vocals 1982-1985
Dan Merrill- guitars and vocals 1982-1992
Brian Johnson- acoustic guitar and vocals 1982-1987
Dana Cobb- drums and vocals 1982-1992
John Hasenfus- bass, sax and vocal 1982-1989
Bob Leblonde- keyboards and vocals 1982

Add'l members
Rich O'Neil- keyboards 1983-1984
Steve Boutet- keyboards 1984-1992
Bill Phillips - guitar and vocals 1987-1990
Jim Goodrich- bass and vocals 1989- 1991
Tim Wilson- bass and vocals 1991-1992

Completed in 1989, "Foundation" was Cornerstone's first and only full length CD release. They had previous had a single released in 1985 called "Leavin' penned by Crowley which was pressed as part of a local music competition. Later in 1987 Cornerstone released a single called "Shades of Summertime written by Boutet and Merrill. They would become the primary writers of the songs on Foundation. After this release, Cornerstone continued playing live shows and recording for another 2+1/2 years before disbanding and pursuing other projects.

Lead singer Dan Merrill has remained a performing and recording artist and has released two solo CD's: "Revolution" in 1996, and "Tomorrow to Yesterday" in 2009. Dan was the singer for the Philadelphia based progressive rock band "Simon Apple" who released "River To the Sea" in 2006. Larry Crowley released a solo CD in 2008 called "Bang!" and Brian Johnson released a self titled CD, " Brian Curtis Johnson" in 2010.

In 2017 Dan Merrill teamed up with the original producer and engineer of "Foundation," Tom Blackwell, to remaster this CD for this re-release.