Ancient Desert Ritual | Walking In Sand

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Genesis Mike Oldfield Porcupine Tree

More Artists From
United States - United States

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Progressive Rock Rock: Space Rock Moods: Mood: Dreamy
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Walking In Sand

by Ancient Desert Ritual

A dark atmospheric progressive rock album with some rock/pop elements thrown in.
Genre: Rock: Progressive Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Steel Ships
4:33 $0.99
2. Shallow People
6:42 $0.99
3. The Catalyst
4:41 $0.99
4. Plains
4:37 $0.99
5. The Jaunt
7:02 $0.99
6. Way to Get Back Home
6:39 $0.99
7. The Jaunt Back
4:59 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Walking In Sand is a mixture of progressive rock and electronic/ambient music. The album starts off with Steel Ships, a commercial single about being creative and the price of exploring it. Shallow People's basic message, "get off your couch and just do it" no matter how scared you are. The first of the instrumentals is The Catalyst. A heavy synth piece with an aggressive groove. A dark version of "Happy Trails" is Plains. Inspired by Grant Lee Buffalo and Steve Hackett, a ballad about how change happens whether you like it or not. The album's centerpiece The Jaunt, inspired by a short story by Stephen King, is ambient at its darkest. Way To Get Back Home tells the story of a post-war tribe wandering in the desert and the ritual they use for survival. Ending the album is the reprise title The Jaunt Back, a highly-accompanied bass solo.


Glenn D. Clark: basses, keyboards, synthesizers, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, guitar synthesizer, percussion, programming, effects, backing vocals on 'Steel Ships', vocorder on 'Shallow People'
Bill Pleau: lead and backing vocals
Greg Ryan: acoustic and electronic drums
Matt Timberlin: electric guitar on 'Shallow People'
Tim Kestle: acoustic guitar on 'Plains' and additional guitar synthesizer on 'Way To Get Back Home'
Ben Tanler: bass on 'Plains'
Marcus Emsermann: backing vocals on 'SteelShips'

'The Jaunt' inspired by a short story by Stephen King

Music, lyrics, arrangements & produced by Glenn D. Clark
Engineering: Ben Tanler except on 'The Jaunt Back' by Ben Tanler & Mark Vigil
Mixing: Ben Tanler & Glenn D. Clark
Mastering: Steve Sunberg, Ben Tanler & Glenn D. Clark at FTM Studios

Artwork by Glenn D. Clark

Recorded at Free Reelin' Studios (Denver, CO), Frye's Music Service (Toledo, OH), Ancient Desert Sounds and Recording (Toledo and Denver) and University Of Toledo

This recording is dedicated to my father, Thomas L. Clark, for helping me 'along the happy trail'.



to write a review