Oversoul | Shock proof

Go To Artist Page

More Artists From
United States - Illinois

Other Genres You Will Love
Reggae: Smooth Reggae Jazz: World Fusion Moods: Mood: Upbeat
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Shock proof

by Oversoul

Chicago all star jazzreggae musicians Hamid Drake-drums,Joe Thomas-bass,Abdul Hakim and Daryl A. Thompson on guitar, and the leader David Byrd on alto sax and vocals take you on an unforgetable musical romp.
Genre: Reggae: Smooth Reggae
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Live and Learn (feat. Stevie Robinson)
4:21 $0.99
2. Shock proof (feat. Sugar Ray Dinky)
4:58 $0.99
3. Mountain Lion (feat. David Spencer)
3:04 $0.99
4. Deadbeat Dad (feat. Janvier Jones)
3:01 $0.99
5. Satin Feathers (feat. Daryl A. Thompson)
5:06 $0.99
6. Time and Distance (feat. Stevie Robinson & Robin Robinson)
3:58 $0.99
7. Eye Contact (feat. Cheryl Wilson & Ready Rick)
5:52 $0.99
8. Wrinkles (feat. Abdul Hakim & David Spencer)
5:48 $0.99
9. Stuck On Stupid (feat. Pam King & Janvier Jones)
4:59 $0.99
10. Rainy Day Magic (feat. Abdul Hakim & Duane Buford)
3:47 $0.99
11. Dance With Me (feat. Jeorge)
3:56 $0.99
12. Mountain Lion Dub
3:09 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
The drummer for this cd is the amazing Hamid Drake, who together with bassist "smokin" Joe Thomas are a dynamic world class drum and bass, joined by the ultimate skankmaster, Abdul Hakim.
1. Live and Learn: The great vocals of internationally known Stevie Robinson starts off this conscious party dedicated to the youth: we must live and learn in order to grow. Darryl Thompson has a wicked guitar part that locks like a pit bull.
2 .Shockproof: Life will teach the wise to be resilent, and ever ready for the truth. Sugar Ray Dinky, from cabrini greens, takes you for a wicked ride on a funky ferris wheel at the end of the track. Daryl Thompson discovered him on the Ophra Winfrey show.
3 .Mountain Lion: Come and hear the sound of the mountain lion's roar, far from babylon.Chicago all-star David Spencer on trumpet brings a strong and clear tone that complements the sax of David Byrd, with complete command of a demanding instrument.
4. Deadbeat Dad: This song is not about the obvious deabeat bums, but about a father that tries to take care of his children, but still ended up being labelled as a deadbeat dad. This is the blueprint for disaster; so be sure and avoid it, if you can!
5. Satin Feathers: The cd makes a detour into a sensual smooth jazz romp as Darryl Thompson's smooth guitar is a wicked partner in crime with the Byrd's smooth sax.
6. Time and Distance: Time and distance works against a relationship when you are a musician on the road, but distance will make your heart burn, as you spiral in one direction or another. Terrific background vocals under the direction of the mighty Stevie Robinson; Robin Robinson and Cheryl Wilson round out the beautiful voices.
7 Eye Contact: Sexy duet with David Byrd and Cheryl Wilson that takes you on the journey to love that begins with eye contact. Ready Rick from Stateway gardens housing projects puts the authentic cherry on top.
8 .Wrinkles: Abdul Hakim lends his solid guitar and strong baritone voice to a controversial subject ; hypocrites hiding behind the robes of a priest. Abdul is a first call rythyhm guitarist on the Chicago reggae scene, and few knew he could sing so well!
9 .Stuck on Stupid: Some folks keep on doing that same stupid stuff over and over, We use the term "stuck on stupid".
One drop gives this a rootsy feel.
10. Rainy Day Magic: Rainy days give you the time to be extra creative. Duane Buford grooves the keys.
11. Dance with me: Jeorge from yard will make you dance.
12. Mountain Lion Dub; Reprise of Mountain Lion dub style.
Former Black Uhuru guitarist Daryl Thompson was a crucial part oif this cd. He is the guitar player's guitar player, and a superb all-around musician.
David Spencer is a first choice chicago studio trumpet player, and the same goes for Abdul Hakim on rytrhym guitar.
engineered by Ron White, and Chuck Kawal. Mixed by Ron White,Jon Smith and John "Bugs" Parkinson.
Recorded at Chicago Trax
We stay ever ready for the truth so therefore we are : SHOCKPROOF!



to write a review