Divine Weeks | See Those Landing Lights

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
REM The Who U2

Album Links
All Music Guide - Divine Weeks 33 Days on Amazon Divine Weeks Official Website Divine Weeks Facebook Page

More Artists From
United States - California - LA

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock Rock: American Underground Moods: Mood: Upbeat
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

See Those Landing Lights

by Divine Weeks

Wide eyed, open hearted, guitar driven songs calling on music's healing and redemptive powers.
Genre: Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 20% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Here's My Heart and Soul
4:35 $0.50
2. Rise in Love
4:09 $0.50
3. Built My Life Around You
3:50 $0.50
4. Blind Kind of Love
5:02 $0.50
5. Someday (By & By)
5:18 $0.50
6. Heart of Light
4:49 $0.50
7. Dreamers of the Day
4:02 $0.50
8. The Joy and the Wonder
5:08 $0.50
9. Like the Last Night of Our Lives
6:32 $0.50
10. Big Sky
6:05 $0.50
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Named by the L.A. Times one of the 15 best unsigned bands in Los Angeles, indie stalwarts Divine Weeks reunite in 2016 to release "See Those Landing Lights," a stunning open-hearted and wide-eyed war on cynicism with big sweeping guitar-driven songs of regeneration and renewal.

See Those Landing Lights credits:
Produced by Divine Weeks
All Songs By Bill See & Raj Makwana
Bill See: vocals
Raj Makwana: guitars
Dave Smerdzinski: drums
Steve Soto: bass
Tracking recorded at Yaniv Studios, Canoga Park CA by Yaniv Farber on January 24, 2016
Overdubbing/Vocals/Mixing done at Studio Dee by Huey Dee, Atwater Village CA

Originally signed by the Dream Syndicate's Steve Wynn's Down There/Restless Records, Divine Weeks released their debut record "Through and Through" in May 1987 before setting off on their first tour in summer 1987. During that first tour, their video for their first single "In The Country (For Jim Carroll) became a minor favorite on the newly launched MTV's "120 Minutes." The journals singer Bill See kept on the '87 tour formed the basis for Bill's 2011 critically acclaimed coming of age memoir "33 Days" which came out in 2011.

Divine Weeks released one more record, 1991's "Never Get Used to It" on First Warning/BMG before disbanding in 1992.
Other than a one-off live show in 2004, the band remained dormant until Bill reached out to Divine Weeks guitarist Raj Makwana to collaborate on the book tour for "33 Days" where they performed old Divine Weeks material and excerpts from the book. This lead to impromptu songwriting sessions every Sunday morning starting in 2014. Initially not intended to be a Divine Weeks project, the songs they wrote struck the two as sounding eerily familiar with the uplifting music that marked the best of Divine Weeks music.

After bringing original drummer Dave Smerdzinski back into the fold along with L.A. music veteran Steve Soto, the band entered the studio in early 2016 and quickly and effortlessly recorded "See Those Landing Lights." "See Those Landing Lights" is the beacon-like image taken from the emotional centerpiece of the record, "Big Sky." The light that carries one home is a theme running through the record that also touches on friendship, soul mates, fatherhood and mortality. In fact, "See Those Landing Lights" could be called a sequel to "33 Days."

The reunited Divine Weeks have followed up "See Those Landing Lights" with their first live album "We Did It For Love (Live)" released in early 2017 and recently reissued a deluxe edition of their debut "Through and Through" which includes 13 bonus tracks (11 of which are previously unreleased) recorded from Fall 1987 through the end of 1989 by their original lineup.



to write a review