Empty Can Band | Beautiful Man

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Neil Young Tom Petty Van Morrison

More Artists From
United States - United States

Other Genres You Will Love
Blues: Blues-Rock Rock: Americana Moods: Mood: Fun
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Beautiful Man

by Empty Can Band

From Neil Young to Van Morison to Tom Petty you will find the songwriting superb and the recording most excellent. Exclusive Comfortzone Audio Artists.
Genre: Blues: Blues-Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. The Studio Song
3:09 $0.99
2. Taking This Pain
2:50 $0.99
3. All I Got
2:16 $0.99
4. The Ocean
3:38 $0.99
5. The Bitter End
4:21 $0.99
6. New Country Woman
4:29 $0.99
7. Gemini Girl
3:45 $0.99
8. Slam 'em Down
3:16 $0.99
9. Beautiful Man
4:43 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes

The Empty Can Band's latest release, “Beautiful Man”, contains nine songs – eight are originals, and the album features the drumming by the late Paul Wegman on seven of the album’s songs. Band members also include Dave Glynn on lead vocals and guitars, Johnny 'Mack' Mackniskas on lead vocals and lead guitar and piano, Rich Van Ham on harmonica, Ray Rehberg on mandolin and guitars, James 'Chevy' Chevalier on bass and Todd Moffett on percussion and vocals.

Here are descriptions and who’s playing what on the songs on “Beautiful Man” – we hope you enjoy the album:

The Studio Song
written by Johnny “Mack” Mackniskas ©2012

Oh what fun it is to play in the studio. Johnny Mack captures all the fun in this song that features Johnny Mack on electric guitar and lead vocals, Dave Glynn on rhythm guitar and backing vocals, Rich Van Ham on harmonica, Paul Wegman on drums, Jim ‘Chevy’ Chevalier on bass, Ray Rehberg on electric guitar and Todd Moffett on backing vocals.

Taking This Pain
written by Dave Glynn ©2012

Love can be painful. What more can be said? Dave leads this one on lead vocals and acoustic guitar, J-Mack on a Mike Campbell-esque lead guitar, Ray Rehberg on mandolin, Rich on harp, Paul on drums, Chevy on bass. Dear Mr. DJ, we think this is a big pop ballad with a bullet!

All I Got
written by Dave Glynn ©2012

What’s love got to do with it when you have money? This song was inspired by Steve Fossett and his very young wife encouraging him to do daring things. Ray clangs the mandolin, Richie on harp, JMack on lead guitar, Paul on drums, Chevy on bass and Dave on the lead vocals and acoustic.

The Ocean
written by Johnny “Mack” Mackniskas ©2012

This song is about a run-away chick singer who’s in trouble (you can even hear the sirens), and we think it’s pretty cool . Johnny plays lead guitar, Ray on guitar, Dave on rhythm acoustic and backing vocals, Richie on harp, Chevy on bass, Paul on drums, Todd on backing vocals.

The Bitter End
written by Dave Glynn ©2012

I’m schizophrenic, and so am I. You’ll notice that’s a common theme in Dave’s songs on this album. A different version of this song appeared on the Made In Aurora: Now Here This – Volume I along with the next track “New Country Woman”. The line-up for this one has Dave on lead vocals and acoustic guitar, Richie on harp, Johnny on lead guitar and backing vocals, Ray on mandolin, Paul on drums, Chevy on bass and Todd on backing vocals.

New Country Woman
written by Johnny “Mack” Mackniskas ©2012

This song was written by Johnny and was inspired by his Moms old record collection which included a lot of Roger Miller and Johnny Cash. Johnny on lead vocal and gut-string guitar, Dave on acoustic, Rich on harp, Ray on mandolin, Chevy on bass, Todd on vocals. We channeled the Jordanaires on the backing vocals for this one.

Gemini Girl
written by Dave Glynn ©2012

Dave wrote a version of this song back in the early 90′s that resembled “Still the Night” by the Bo Deans. Ray started playing a reggae riff when Dave tried to resurrect the song for the Cans. It kinda went crazy-Rasta from there. Dave had to ask JMack to tone down the horns in the mix several thousand times. Fun song, fun girl. Dave still isn’t sure which one he was dating back in the day. Dave on lead vocals, JMack on lead guitar, vocals and synth horns, Ray on guitar, Rich on whirling-devilish harp, Todd on percussion and vocals.

Slam ‘em Down
written by Tad Walters ©1998 and Empty Can Band ©2012

This has always been an Empty Can Band favorite. It’s probably why some of the cans have stayed empty. Don’t try this at home. Johnny on lead vocals and lead guitar, Richie on harp, Dave on rhythm electric guitar, Chevy on bass, Paulie on drums, Ray on electric guitar, Todd and everyone we know on backing vocals.

Beautiful Man
written by Johnny “Mack” Mackniskas and Dave Glynn: Arranged by John Mackniskas ©2012

This is the second song that Johnny and Dave wrote together – the first being Christmas in A-Towne for the second Made In Aurora compilation. The song is about our friend who is no longer with us. This entire album is dedicated to him. Johnny on vocals and piano, Dave on vocals, Richie on harp, Ray on 12-string guitar, Chevy on bass, Todd on vocals and Paulie in spirit.
Studio: Comfortzone Audio, Oswego, IL
Tracking Engineer: John Mackniskas
Mixing Engineer: John Mackniskas
Remixing Engineer: John Mackniskas
Mastering: John Mackniskas



to write a review

Andrew Jackson

A real pleasure to listen to
I love this album! The songs are works of art and the sound is very faithful to the old LP records I used to own. Very Analog. :-)