Esko Järvelä Epic Male Band | Rye Groove

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Casey Driessen Treacherous Orchestra Tsuumi Sound System

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Folk: Folk-Rock World: Scandinavian Moods: Type: Instrumental
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Rye Groove

by Esko Järvelä Epic Male Band

Esko Järvelä Epic Male Band - Progressive Finnish Hard Folk unit with exuberant attitude and energy led by one of Finland's most influential traditional musicians and a versatile fiddler, Esko Järvelä.
Genre: Folk: Folk-Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Whip
2:19 $1.09
2. Bo Diddley
5:18 $1.09
3. Rose On the Wallpaper
4:56 $1.09
4. Kabob Ostrobothnia
4:54 $1.09
5. Sheriff
4:02 $1.09
6. Five A.M.
4:35 $1.09
7. Rye Groove
3:56 $1.09
8. Sweet Reel
7:33 $1.09
9. Inner Space
5:24 $1.09
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
”To achieve great things, two things are needed: a plan and not quite enough time.”
-Leonard Bernstein

When I started working on Epic Male Band a couple of years ago I had a plan to take a running start. I felt I had loads of ideas I wanted to share. Two albums in less than two years would be a great way to prove we’re not messing around here, but I didn’t expect it to turn into some kind of a human test of strength and endurance!!!

After a successful debut album I had received a lot of great feedback which raised the pressure and expectations for the follow-up. In the end I was working like a dog to squeeze all the ideas and productivity out of myself to make the music work. For almost half a year my thoughts were constantly spinning around the album. I spent 24/7 on Epic Male Band amongst all the other bands and jobs I have - not to mention trying to hold my family together.

Finally we started a couple of weeks' intensive rehearsal period leading up to the recording session. I felt bloody tense and wracked with nerves- my head was swollen and numb from my own music and I wasn’t sure if I loved it or hated it. Anyhow - as the process went on and the true results begun to emerge I started to feel more and more confident that the music was gaining enough epicness.

On one of the evenings I came back home from a rehearsal and enthused to my wife that I started to feel the album could be really good. ”It’d better be!” she replied.

Therefore, I want to dedicate this album to all of our partners and families for understanding, tolerating and letting us do this. Most of all this is to my absolutely fantastic wife Pilvi - I hope I can come back home safely with ”Rye Groove”!


1. Whip 2’19
Refers to a small tradition we’ve got to get things going in the band Frigg.

2. Bo Diddley 5’18
The swung feel of this ”schottische” somehow reminded us of Bo Diddley…

3. Rose on the Wallpaper 4’56
-A ballad that we had hard times to find a proper name for.. Thanks to the enthusiastic Oulu Folk Junkies for helping us out. :)

4. Kabob Ostrobothnia 4’54
These Middle-eastern flavours are about as close to being authentic as you'd get in a Kaustinen kebab shop!

5. Sheriff 4’02
A track by tunesmith extraordinaire Ville Kangas, originally performed by folk rock band Prusikoukku. The lyrics are actually scribbled down by Jussi ”Puuma” Petäjä who’s apparently a distant relative to the King of France! Really!

6. Five A.M. 4’35
Creative process and sleep pattern do not go hand in hand. Fair play.

7. Rye Groove 3’56
Folk Rock. Power Folk. Hard Folk. Agri Prog. It’s a waltz alright but what is this music?

8. Sweet Reel 7’33

9. Inner Space 5’24
Why reach out to the outer space - our Inner Space is just as fascinating and inexplicable.

All tunes written by Esko Järvelä and arranged by Esko Järvelä Epic Male Band except track 5. ”Sheriff” written by Ville Kangas and arranged by Ville Kangas & Esko Järvelä Epic Male Band.

Esko Järvelä Epic Male Band is:

Jani Kivelä - electric guitar
Juho Kivivuori - bass
Janne Mathlin - drums
Anssi Salminen - acoustic guitar, voice (on track 6.)
Esko Järvelä - 5-string fiddle, organ, rhodes

Epic, funky, spiffy and supercool Guests:

Oskari ”Leka” Lehtonen - Darbuka (on track 4.)
Aili Järvelä - strings (on tracks 4. and 8.), voice (on track 6.)
Alina Järvelä, Raisa Päivinen, Tommi Asplund - strings (on tracks 4. and 8.)

Recorded in December-January 2014-2015 @ Sonic Pump Studios, Helsinki

Recorded & mixed by Miikka Huttunen

Mastered by Svante Forsbäck @ Chartmakers

Produced by Esko Järvelä

Cover art & concept by Pii-Pii Kivelä

Cover photos by Antti Kokkola

Thanks to: MES, Arts Promotion Centre Finland, Georg Malmstén Foundation, Antti Puumalainen, Vesa Laasanen, Lauri Kallinen, Miiro Varjus, Johannes Brotherus & Sivuvalo Productions, Andy May, Antti Järvelä.



to write a review