Gerald Boy | Medieval Cottage Songs

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Andrés Segovia Julian Bream Narciso Yepes

Album Links
My YouTube Channel Audio Lunchbox PayPlay Apple iTunes Bitmunk BuyMusic Emusic GreatIndieMusic GroupieTunes PassAlong QtrNote Tradebit

More Artists From
CANADA - Ontario

Other Genres You Will Love
Classical: Contemporary Easy Listening: Background Music Moods: Mood: Intellectual
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Medieval Cottage Songs

by Gerald Boy

Soothing original classical guitar compositions of a refined European style with folk and Spanish influences; great to listen to for mellowing out, meditating, or for background music when having a heart-to-heart with friends.
Genre: Classical: Contemporary
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Opus 1 No. 1
2:17 $0.99
2. Lute Song
2:06 $0.99
3. Killaloe
4:05 $0.99
4. Spanish Dream
2:15 $0.99
5. Late Winter Day
3:49 $0.99
6. Falling
2:33 $0.99
7. Meditation
2:02 $0.99
8. Wishing
3:32 $0.99
9. The Yellow Rose
2:02 $0.99
10. Grey Clouds Moving By
2:59 $0.99
11. For Ellysha
5:20 $0.99
12. Play With Me
2:09 $0.99
13. Green Leaves Dancing Outside My Window
2:56 $0.99
14. Cold Morning In June
1:55 $0.99
15. Danza
3:53 $0.99
16. China Lily
3:19 $0.99
17. Good Bye
4:54 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
A portion of Gerald's lifetime has been spent in Aincourt, France, a small village near Paris. The area is renowned for its ancient chateaus, some of which are still occupied by descendants of the original nobility.

These surroundings influenced Gerald's love for fine music and literature. It was this early exposure to chateaus that led to his building the cottage pictured on the CD cover; this cottage provided the perfect atmosphere for composing some of his songs.

Gerald's European background is also reflected in these compositions. This debut CD, which was a year in the making, encompasses a variety of musicial stylings.


Most of the compositions on this cd are solos, but on some Gerald is accompanied by guitar or electronic keyboard.

1. Opus 1 # 1- This was my very first composition. When my guitar teacher suggested I write more pieces, I knew I had found my calling.

2. Lute Song- I had been listening to some medieval music, where the lute was prominently featured. I decided to try writing my own medieval-style song for the lute.

3. Killaloe- Killaloe is a small village near our cottage. This piece is about my love for the area, and its link to my past. I won my first award, the Ottawa Valley Music Association's Original Instrumental of the Year 2001, for this song.

4. Spanish Dream- I enjoy listening to Spanish music and watching flamenco dancers. This song is a tribute to that style of music.

5. Late Winter Day- There are days when you sit looking out your window at yet another snowfall, hoping for Spring.

6. Falling- Sometimes you lose hope and turn away from the light.

7. Meditation- I am a strong believer in the benefits of meditation for health and well-being. This piece was composed after one of my meditation sessions.

8. Wishing- Wishing for peace, wishing for joy, wishing for prosperity.

9. The Yellow Rose- This was written in honour of Princess Diana.

10. Grey Clouds Moving By- Cloud watching is a very relaxing pasttime, and on grey days there is always the hope that the sun will break through.

11. For Ellysha- This was written after seeing my daughter for the first time in sixteen years.

12. Play With Me- Kittens, puppies and small children all have that same inexhaustable energy!

13. Green Leaves Dancing Outside My Window- Watching leaves dancing in the breeze at the cottage.

14. Cold Morning In June- There are times in Canada when it seems summer is never going to come. This was one of those days.

15. Danza- Another piece inspired by my love of Spanish music.

16. China Lily- A piece that reflects the beauty of all things Chinese.

17. GoodBye- I wrote this to close off my first album. It is a bit wistfull, but at the same time celebrates my joy in music.



to write a review

John Mcknight

I highly recommend this recording.
For many years now, I have been listening to and enjoying a range of classical and acoustic guitar recordings. Some of the artists I have particularly enjoyed listening to include Segovia, Bream, Yepes, Kottke, Metheny, Cockburn, Ackerman and others in the Windham Hill family.

Since its release, I have found myself listening to Gerald Boy's "Medieval Cottage Songs" time and time again. I feel this speaks very highly to the quality of this recording, and the fact that this is Boy's very first recording is a delightful surprise. Similar to the above artists, Boy's
compositions and the quality of his playing evokes an emotional experience of considerable depth. As well, his songs take the listener along a journey that touches one's spirit with the clean simplicity of why we listen to acoustic guitar in the first place. This recording is not
over-produced to create an 'ambient' listening experience. The quality of compositions and Boy's playing simply speak for themselves.

John McKnight (Delighted Listener)
January 3, 2002


Bruno DesOrmeaux

Listening to Gerald Boy's music is like coming home again
Driving back to Montreal with my freshly purchased album Medieval Cottage Songs, I felt peace of mind, driving in the Ontario winter scenery and heading back home. This is the feeling I had...coming back to something we've known all our lives...HOME. Like we say in my French part of Canada, Merci d'avoir touché les cordes sensibles de mon coeur avec tes mélodies.