compilation | Ghost Notes

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Pink Floyd Rush Yes

Album Links

More Artists From
United States - Georgia

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Progressive Rock Metal/Punk: Progressive Metal Moods: Type: Compilations
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Ghost Notes

by compilation

This CD is a compilation of some of the best independent Progressive Rock (Prog Rock) bands in music today. It includes 9 songs and 3 VIDEOS. If you like bands like Genesis, Yes, King Crimson, Rush, Pink Floyd and Gentle Giant, this CD is for you.
Genre: Rock: Progressive Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Clarity's Advent (live) by Cobweb Strange
4:59 album only
2. Crying in the Rain by Farpoint
6:50 album only
3. Concatenations by Z-Axis
9:44 album only
4. Wolves in the Fold by Karma Lingo
8:33 album only
5. On the Moon by Electric Poem
4:42 album only
6. The Drowning Pulse of the Cold Green Sea by Cobweb Strange (
9:03 album only
7. Footprints by Mantlepiece
3:12 album only
8. Tomorrow's Dreams Today by Solution Science Systems
8:32 album only
9. Man of Many Dreams by Lord Only
8:40 album only


Album Notes
This CD is a compilation of some of the best independent Progressive Rock (Prog Rock) bands in music today. It includes 9 songs and as a bonus, it also includes 3 VIDEOS. The videos are in Quicktime format for viewing on your computer. If you like bands like Genesis, Yes, King Crimson, Rush, Pink Floyd and Gentle Giant, this CD will give you a sample of the best bands currently releasing music in that style.

More info. about the bands:

Cobweb Strange was formed in 1995 by bassist/vocalist Wade Summerlin. Along with guitarist Holly Williams, Keyboardist Brandi Byrum and Drummer Soumen Talukder the band has been influenced by many different styles of music resulting in quite a unique sound. Over the years, the band has recorded an EP and three full-length studio albums. They have also been included on numerous compilation CDs, received worldwide radio airplay and had their videos (including the Currents of Nightshade video featured on this disc) aired on several MTV style video programs. Cobweb Strange has toured the Southeastern United States playing club dates and festivals including the Rogue Independent Music Festival in Atlanta, GA, Waterfest in Beaufort, SC and Rockathon 2000 in New Orleans, LA. This CD includes two tracks from the band: "Clarity's Advent" was recorded live at the 2003 Rogue Independent Music Festival and "The Drowning Pulse of the Cold Green Sea" is from their third studio album, A Breath of October.

Farpoint formed in 1997 and first performed live at Yescamp '98, a gathering of Yes fans in South Carolina. The recorded output of Farpoint consists of Just Like You, a two-song cd single released in 2000 as a part of a fundraiser for the Special Olympics, First Light, Farpoint's first full-length album released in April, 2002 and the follow-up, Grace, released in 2003. Their track on the Ghost Notes CD, "Crying in the Rain", will appear on their third full length CD, From Dreaming to Dreaming which was just released.

Z-Axis calls their style of music "post-progressive" rock, and they have been perfecting and refining it since their formation in 1997. Their traditional prog roots have been filtered through contemporary sensibilities, and augmented with influences ranging from world music to electronica to create a sound that pays homage to the original prog spirit, but isn't mired in the past. Founded by synthesist/composer Allen Welty-Green to perform music he had composed for the multi-media performance art piece, Reality Check, Z-Axis also features Welty-Green's high-school friend Phillip Hart on a wide range of percussion instruments. Bassist/vocalist Jeff Tyson and guitarist/vocalist Mark Baker round out the line-up with their startlingly original approaches to their respective instruments. Their first CD, Music from Reality Check was released in 2000 to uniformly glowing reviews and is still selling briskly. Their long-awaited follow up, Concatenations, is currently in production and should be very soon.

Karma Lingo has specialized in what they call the "New Classic Rock" since 1995 - driving, direct songwriting, economical and inventive instrumental arrangements, and elaborate vocal harmonies. Four men and three women, everybody plays, everybody sings, and everybody writes. They play rock and roll like it hasn't been played in 2-3 decades, featuring a big sound, melodies you can actually sing, dynamics and drama, all delivered with emotion, imagination, and total commitment. The track "Wolves in the Fold" is from their second full-length CD, Seven.

Electric Poem was formed in the early 1990s by vocalist Thomas Luke. Through passionate performances both in the clubs and on television, numerous independent EP releases and college radio exposure, the band achieved a significant underground cult following which led to a relationship with Polygram Records. As their first major label release neared, outside tensions splintered the group and members went their separate ways. In 1997, the band reformed for a reunion show, which led to renewed label interest and the reformation of the band. 2000 saw the release of The Crystal Mind, which included the song featured on this compilation, "On The Moon". The album just went into a second pressing in 2004 after selling out of the first pressing. Electric Poem is currently in the studio working on their next album.

Mantlepiece is a collaboration between the songwriters/musicians Trevon Broad, Kevin Little & Jody Lundell. Along with a variety of studio musicians who have worked with them over the years, songs are currently being recorded for their first full-length album. Several of the band's songs have already been featured on numerous compilation CDs. Their track on Ghost Notes, "Footprints", features popular Atlanta artist, Lexi Street, and is featured on the band's new album, "For A Moment".

Solution Science Systems is a very unique Atlanta based band with a variety of influences from King Crimson to the Beatles. The band broke into the public eye performing at the 2003 Rogue Independent Music Festival in Atlanta, GA. They are currently in the studio working on the followup to their debut album, Daemon Ex Machina, which included the track featured on Ghost Notes, "Tomorrows Dreams Today".

Lord Only is an Atlanta-based hard rock band with intricate arrangements, intense instrumental passages, memorable melodies and lush harmony vocals-- electric and eclectic. Drawing from diverse influences like The Beatles, Yes, Rush, King's X, Pink Floyd, Tool, U2, and the great rhythm sections of Motown and the 70's and 80's, the members of Lord Only are constantly trying to expand their musical palettes while sticking closely to the basic concepts of melody, harmony and rhythm that remain approachable to the average music listener. The band has built a solid foundation through their many live performances such at Rogue Independent Music Festival in Atlanta, GA and opening for bands such as Nik Turner and Spaceseed. Lord Only's debut album, Fear And Trembling, was released in August 2003. Mixed by veteran producer/engineer Neil Kernon (Kansas, Queensryche, Hall & Oates) and Chris Griffin (Drivin N Cryin, The Marvelous Three), its powerful sound is beginning to ripple across America and over the Atlantic, eliciting comparisons to everyone from Ozzy Osbourne to Duran Duran to The Cure. The track featured on Ghost Notes, "Man of Many Dreams", was recorded for the band's second album.



to write a review