Havnatt | Etterlatte

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Empyrium Tenhi Vàli

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Folk: Alternative Folk Metal/Punk: Alternative Metal Moods: Type: Acoustic
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by Havnatt

Havnatt is a Norwegian duo writing, performing and recording dark folk and neofolk music.
Genre: Folk: Alternative Folk
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Sovande Gard (Tolkning 1)
4:17 $0.99
2. Et Blinkfyr Våker I Vest
3:54 $0.99
3. Etterlatte
5:04 $0.99
4. Farvel Til Årvak
5:45 $0.99
5. Vårnatta Er Ein Lys Felestreng (Del 1)
7:07 $0.99
6. Det Er Slutt På Sommarskvellan
5:17 $0.99
7. Stjernenetter
4:43 $0.99
8. Je Bøgde Meg Stille - Og Gråt
3:37 $0.99
9. Var Je Solblesten (Albumversjon)
4:12 $0.99
10. Mellom Linjene
4:20 $0.99
11. Sovande Gard (Tolkning 2)
3:42 $0.99
12. Folkevise
7:42 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
The Etterlatte album builds upon the foundation that Havnatt created with their Havdøgn EP (2012). All lyrics are still the unedited works of Norwegian author Tormod Skagestad. Largely based upon Cecilie Langlie's vocal performances and the acoustic guitar arrangements by Tom Simonsen, the sound is still unique, Havnatt-esque neofolk/dark folk. With Etterlatte the sound is also further expanded through larger musical arrangements that include piano, clarinets, violins and cellos, among others.

Each of the album's 12 tracks seeks to create a musical interpretation of one of Tormod Skagestad's poems, and deals with the unaltered lyrics of one entire poem. One interesting exception is the track Vårnatta Er Ein Lys Felestreng (Del 1). "Del 1" (meaning "Part 1" in Norwegian) indicates that the lyrics of this poem was actually cut in half and that "Del 2" will follow on a later release. Another exception is the addition of the instrumental track Mellom Linjene. Furthermore, the album includes two separate interpretations of the poem entitled Sovande Gard. The first interpretation of this poem makes up the first track of the album. Then the lyrics of this poem return once more on track 11 - with quite different results.

The CD version of the album comes with a beautifully crafted 28 page booklet with hand drawn illustrations for each of the tracks. Tormod Skagestad's original lyrics have also been reprinted in the booklet with permission from the Skagestad family.

Havnatt is
Cecilie Langlie - vocals
Tom Simonsen - guitars, bass, piano, drums

Session musicians
Mira Ursic - violins
Rosamund Brown - cellos
Tiina Granum - clarinets

All tracks composed, arranged and produced by Havnatt.
All lyrics by Tormod Skagestad.

The lyrics used on this album were taken from the following collections of poems:
Om fjellprofilan låg ei gullrand spent (1946)
I natt skal mange våke (1947)
Mørkt vatten glir mot havet (1950)

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Tom Simonsen at the Secret Quarters studios.
© 2013 Havnatt. All rights reserved.

Released by Secret Quarters.
The Secret Quarters logo © 2013 Secret Quarters. All rights reserved.

Album illustrations and design by Robert Høyem.



to write a review