Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ postal shipping
Iain McLaren | Now Try to Be Cute

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Brian Eno John Cage Tom Waits

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Avant Garde: Experimental Avant Garde: Structured Improvisation Moods: Mood: Quirky
There are no items in your wishlist.

Now Try to Be Cute

by Iain McLaren

So proud to present this digital re-release of the 1998 experimental classic!
Genre: Avant Garde: Experimental
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Chum Is on a Fink
3:02 $0.99
2. Hogick Thick
3:40 $0.99
3. Ate'n Burgs
3:15 $0.99
4. Mandarin Wedge
3:11 $0.99
5. Pocket Flash Naps
2:10 $0.99
6. Carl the Guide
4:35 $0.99
7. An Auction Somewhere
0:37 $0.99
8. Fwohpeep Can't Tickle
2:46 $0.99
9. Saudi Clip Brat
3:50 $0.99
10. Ne Yeh Neve Yehe
3:56 $0.99
11. Molten Mama
0:48 $0.99
12. Family Gas
3:02 $0.99
13. Buj
3:43 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Originally self-released in 1998, "Now Try To Be Cute" is the classic experimental lo-fi album by Iain McLaren, presented now in the digital age by Ulusulu Music. Oddball piano solos peppered with gibberish vocal harmonies are interspersed with unpredictable swatches of colour created by basketballs, oil rigs, metal chains, and hand drums in the most peculiar polyrhythms. Somehow, all of this deep strangeness is instantly likeable for its innocent playfulness. Iain's is a rare breed of creativity, as some fans may know from his prior work with metal band Sadistic Humor, rockers Hob-Nob, experimental duo Tragedy Hashbrown and Cable 10's Euphoria Emporium.

Here are original liner notes from the 1998 release:

evythin' recorded between sept.97 and july.98 on a
tascam 4 track except #9 rec.live on tascam 8 track by
sean luciw and #13 rec.live in red dear on a zero fideilty pook.
all noise recipes performed, composed and concocted by
Iain McLaren. Paddy, scruff and jingle bell john have all been
rescued from the supple clutches of the cute confiscators and
they are now selling dimples to people with plain faces.

pics & album design by GIZBAH



to write a review