Ian Michael Brown | The Beauty of Not Knowing

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Brian Blade Fellowship E.S.T (Esbjorn Svensson Trio) Pat Metheny

Album Links
Facebook page

More Artists From
United States - Pennsylvania

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Jazz Fusion Jazz: Contemporary Jazz Moods: Instrumental
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

The Beauty of Not Knowing

by Ian Michael Brown

A debut jazz album containing 10 original compositions influenced by Bill Evans, Esbjorn Svensson, Pat Metheny and the ECM sound with arrangements utilizing piano trio, quartet, and quintet instrumentations.
Genre: Jazz: Jazz Fusion
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd-rp in stock order now
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Don't Look Down
7:01 $1.10
2. The Beauty of Not Knowing
6:48 $1.10
3. Point of Contact
5:50 $1.10
4. Moss and Mud
5:57 $1.10
5. Prayer to the Morning Light
6:18 $1.10
6. The Art of Rising and Falling
6:50 $1.10
7. Thoughts from the Heart
6:14 $1.10
8. Going Home
6:54 $1.10
9. A Rose at Dawn
6:41 $1.10
10. Off Kilter
8:03 $1.10
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Embracing uncertainty and change is not comfortable. We want our perfect plans to play out exactly as we have drawn them up. However the unknown is what makes our lives beautiful and worth living. Music helps us understand life in a more complete way. A composition has a basic framework, just as a life does. Tunes have bass, harmony, and melody; lives have husbands and wives, family and jobs, and leisure. A musician uses this little information given to him to create a personal, unique statement which comes from his soul. The same is true with humanity.
In this journey to write, assemble, and complete this record the unknown has been a constant line through it all. With the uncertainty present, it was easy to shift focus and lose clarity. Fortunately, we embraced the beauty in the journey and welcomed the unknown. I hope this record will allow you to experience the beauty of not knowing and these compositions will help you capture moments, as they have done for me.

Ian Michael Brown - piano & keyboards
Sebastian Forero Barrera - bass
Cristhian Cavanzo - drums
Dave Brown - guitar
Eric DeFade - tenor saxophone

All tracks written by Ian Michael Brown (BMI) ⓒ2019 IMB Music Collections
Recorded by Dana Cannone & Dave Brown at the Church Studio in Pittsburgh, PA
Produced and mixed by Dave Brown & Ian Michael Brown



to write a review