Impossible Recording Machine | Axioms

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Garbage Peter Gabriel The Smashing Pumpkins

Album Links
Impossible Recording Machine Nexhit PassAlong QtrNote Tradebit Audio Lunchbox PayPlay Apple iTunes Bitmunk BuyMusic Emusic GreatIndieMusic GroupieTunes

More Artists From
United States - Illinois

Other Genres You Will Love
Pop: with Electronic Production Electronic: Ambient Moods: Featuring Drums
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by Impossible Recording Machine

A diverse blend of pop, abstract and instrumental music from Matt Walker (Smashing Pumpkins, Filter, Cupcakes) and Jim Dinou (Exo).
Genre: Pop: with Electronic Production
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Interference
2:07 $0.99
2. Safety in Numbers
4:16 $0.99
3. Compulsive 3
1:30 $0.99
4. The Bells
5:23 $0.99
5. Dragging the Lake
5:46 $0.99
6. Shutdown
5:12 $0.99
7. The Soft Wire
3:31 $0.99
8. Absentia
5:13 $0.99
9. Neptune
1:40 $0.99
10. Medicine
3:02 $0.99
11. Out of Phaze
5:00 $0.99
12. Electricity
5:31 $0.99
13. Eyes of Cydonia
2:24 $0.99
14. Soft Rains
8:41 $0.99
15. The Beauty of Sadness
8:14 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
"With a satisfying balance of both straight-on hooks and trippy explorations, Impossible Recording Machine has released an intoxicating album that whets the appetite for more." - Don Kline/All Music Guide

After nearly a decade of writing music together, Matt Walker (Smashing Pumpkins, Filter, Cupcakes) and Jim Dinou (Exo) have decided to brave their perfectionist fear of completion and release the mania of their Impossible Recording Machine.

An amalgamation of influences from pop to abstract, IRM began as a private outlet for genreless experimentation that eventually evolved into a new kind of band with an unusual spectrum of material. Matt and Jim allow their collective intuition to lead them to new and intriguing sonic worlds where they embrace things electric and acoustic, melodic and dissonant, disciplined and spontaneous, and weave them into IRM.

Their self-produced debut album, Axioms, contains 15 tracks which blend seamlessly into one another while simultaneously building the foundation for the 3 "axioms" of IRM: inertia (the ambient tracks), acceleration (the instrumental tracks) and interaction (the pop tracks). Each axiom is represented by 5 tracks, but rather than moving in elementary fashion from one axiom to the next, all 15 tracks, like IRM's music itself, are woven together into one cohesive album. Already back in the studio, Matt and Jim plan to expand on their debut release with a 3-album box set where they will further explore and define the 3 axioms that make up their Impossible Recording Machine.

Impossible Recording Machine is:
Jim Dinou: piano, vx, keyboards, programming, saxes, guitar
Matt Walker: drums, percussion, programming, guitar, bass



to write a review

Gerrit Lansing

I originally heard about IRM from the Sister Machine Gun website, I went to the site, listened to some of their music and was quite impressed. I bought this CD as soon as it was released and was blown away by the music. IRM brings together many different styles, some classic, some experimental to develop very interesting soundscapes. Anyone who likes industrial with a kind of rockish feal to it will love this CD.