Itaiguara | Awakening

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Djavan/Tom Jobim Pat Metheny Group Toninho Horta

More Artists From
United States - NY - New York City

Other Genres You Will Love
Brazilian: MPB Jazz: Crossover Jazz Moods: Type: Acoustic
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by Itaiguara

World Jazz, Brazilian influenced
Genre: Brazilian: MPB
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Why Dream
4:24 $0.99
2. Awakening
4:04 $0.99
3. Meu Rio
4:06 $0.99
4. Cerro
4:46 $0.99
5. De Volta ao Brasil
3:42 $0.99
6. Luana
3:35 $0.99
7. Cores
5:14 $0.99
8. Meditando
4:50 $0.99
9. O Voo da Mosca
2:38 $0.99
10. Chorinho pro Cidinho
2:27 $0.99
11. Meu Rio (Instrumental)
3:49 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Awakening is the first solo album by Brazilian bassist, guitarist, and composer Itaiguara, released in the United States in May 2015. Its songs, 10 of which are original compositions, are an exploration of various styles of Brazilian music and beyond. These range from samba, bossa nova, baião, choro, and modifications of traditional Brazilian styles (afoxé in 3/4 and samba in 7/4), to chamber music, jazz waltz, funk, and Afro-Peruvian. The album features 20 musicians playing a variety of instruments including flutes, clarinet, bassoon, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, accordion, trumpet, guitar, drums, percussion, piano, violin, cello, bass, and vocals. The title track is a composition with a slow build, reminiscent of each day's dawn, and also represents the figurative awakening in an artist's career. For the composer, it signifies the journey from gaining experience as a sideman to articulating his vision through music.

• Itaiguara: guitar on tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 & 11; bass guitar on tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9 & 11; double bass on tracks 2, 6 & 8; backing vocals on track 6
• Oriente Lopez: flute on tracks 1, 2, 4, 6 & 8; piccolo flute on track 7; alto flute on track 10
• Mauricio Zottarelli: drums on tracks 1, 4, 7 & 8; percussion on tracks 6, 9 & 11
• Jorge Continentino: clarinet on track 2, tenor sax on tracks 4, 7 & 11; baritone sax on track 4; wooden flute (pífano) on track 5
• Klaus Mueller: piano on tracks 1, 2, 6 & 8
• Paulo Braga: drums on tracks 3, 5, 6 & 11
• Gilmar Gomes: percussion on 3, 5 & 11
• Davi Vieira: percussion on tracks 1, 5 & 7
• Laura Metcalf: cello on tracks 1, 2 & 6
• Cidinho Teixeira: piano on tracks 3, 7 & 11
• Dom Salvador: accordion on tracks 1 & 8
• Nadia Maudhoo: violin on tracks 1 & 2
• Greta Panettieri: vocals on tracks 3 & 6
• Jessé Sadoc: trumpet on tracks 4 & 7; flugelhorn on track 4
• Rob Curto: accordion on track 5
• Janet Grice: bassoon on track 2
• Naná Brandao: vocals on track 3
• Eliano Braz: violin on track 5
• Ofer Assaf: tenor sax on track 6
• Yotam Silberstein: electric guitar on track 9

All songs are composed by Itaiguara except track 3 by Itaiguara & Naná Brandao, and track 9 by Jacob Bittencourt.
All songs are arranged by Itaiguara.
The album was recorded in New York City and Rio de Janeiro from May to November 2014.

Production details:
Recording Engineers: Michael Brorby, John Davis, Kamilo Kratc, David Stoller, and Toninho Silva
Mixing & Mastering Engineer: Dave Darlington at Bass Hit Recording, NYC
Producer: Itaiguara Brandao
Photography: Deynsy
Recorded in New York City, USA at Acoustic Recording, The Bunker Studio, Soundworks Recording, Samurai Hotel Recording, and in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil at Zaga Music.

Additional Credits:
• Arranging consultants: Mike Longo, Oriente Lopez, Klaus Mueller
• Pre-production assistants: Mauricio Zottarelli, Gilmar Gomes
• Project consultant: Marcos Vigio

The opening track, Why Dream, features the great Dom Salvador on accordion and a unique combination of Brazilian percussion (agogo, caxixi, timbau) with string instruments (violins, cellos). It presents a variety of rhythms such as Afro 6/8, baião with salsa influence, and funk in 5/4.
The title track, Awakening, features a small 10-piece chamber orchestra with combined classical and jazz elements.
Meu Rio is a samba exalting the beauty of Rio de Janeiro and expressing the longing of an expat wishing to return to the city. The lyrics are written by Naná Brandao. Greta Panettieri and Naná sing in Portuguese mostly in unison with solos by Greta. Gilmar Gomes is featured on percussion playing ganzá, reco-reco, torpedo, pandeiro, tamborim, rebolo, tantan, prato, and repiques. The instrumental reprise of Meu Rio is recorded on the last track in Brazilian jazz style with the tenor sax playing the melody.
Cerro is a funky samba in 7/4 with modern harmonic passages, and presents a rare combination of tenor and baritone sax, flute, and trumpet, accompanied by a rhythm session comprising acoustic guitar, bass guitar, and drums.
De Volta ao Brasil (Back to Brazil) uses the most traditional instruments of baião, namely the wooden flute (pífano), violin, accordion, and percussion (zabumba, triangle, reco-reco, rebolo, tantan, timbau), mixed with acoustic guitar, bass guitar, and drums.
Luana is a bossa nova tune written by Itaiguara for his daughter. The lyrics describe, in a bittersweet tone, the difficulty of living far away from one's child. It features the legendary drummer Paulo Braga who was a core member of Antonio Carlos Jobim's band for 15 years.
The rhythm of Cores (Colors) is inspired by the Afro-Brazilian genre afoxé, yet contains an original twist: it is conceived in 3/4, as opposed to the traditional 2/4.
Meditando (Meditating) is a waltz inspired by Bill Evans's music, expressed in a fusion jazz genre with the addition of accordion and flute to the traditional jazz trio: piano, upright bass, and drums.
O Voo da Mosca (The Flight of the Fly) is a technically challenging, high-tempo composition by Jacob Bittencourt arranged by Itaiguara in a way that diverges from the traditional chorinho format (AABBACCA) by shortening the form, introducing a solo section, and alternating the theme between the bass and the electric guitar.
Chorinho pro Cidinho is a homage to groove master Cidinho Teixeira. It is written in chorinho style and features the Cuban virtuoso Oriente Lopez on alto flute.



to write a review