Jakob Elvstrøm | SaxClub Vol.1

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Dave Koz David Sanborn Maceo Parker

Album Links
offical website

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Smooth Jazz Urban/R&B: Funk Moods: Featuring Saxophone
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

SaxClub Vol.1

by Jakob Elvstrøm

Hot and funky smooth jazz from cold Scandinavia! A variety of down- and uptempo songs that will make you feel good. With the very funky female bassplayer from Prince; Ida Nielsen, guest vocalists, hornsection and a truly personal and modern retrovibe
Genre: Jazz: Smooth Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 20% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Make It Flow feat. Miss Mukupa
5:04 album only
2. I Love Your Smile
4:35 album only
3. Mokeytown
4:24 album only
4. Lost and not found
4:55 album only
5. Down That Road
4:35 album only
6. Put \'em up feat. Pops Jabu
5:08 album only
7. Blue and Funky
3:52 album only
8. Late Night Slammin\'
4:50 album only
9. When We are Together feat. Raz Conway
4:15 album only
10. Record Connection
5:05 album only
11. Mr.Wayne doesn\'t live here anymore
3:56 album only
12. Step it up
4:09 album only
13. Shufflestreet
4:32 album only
14. Make It Flow (Radioedit) feat. Miss Mukupa
3:30 album only


Album Notes
Having played the alto-saxophone for more than 20 years, Jakob Elvstrøm decided it was about time to make his first funky solo-album!
The result has been worth waiting for. The fourteen instrumental and one vocal track, is a personal blend of funk and contemporary jazz.
Jakob Elvstrøm has played professionally for almost two decades, always focusing on the soulful and funky side of jazz and pop music. His new album certainly reflects this.
It was not necessary to persuade friends and fellow musicians to participate on this almost entirely self-penned record, many of them being the best in the country, touring among others with "Prince" and "Michael Learns To Rock".
Almost all of the music was played live in the studio, with lots of old keyboards, real horns and percussion giving the Cd a geuine vintage-flavour. Producer Morten Eriksen has edited and fine-tuned the live-playing with subtle synth-effects, a little drum-programming and soundscapes.
A lot of effort was put in the arrangements and sound of the songs, with Danish female star rapper Miss Mukupa and Danish/American professor Richard Raskin on spoken words, making things flow in the right direction.
The songs offer a wide variety of moods and styles, from the downtempo "Lost and not Found", the tasteful smooth jazz version of Shanice's major hit "I Love Your Smile" to the happy-go-lucky "Make It Flow". The music is held firmly together by the mesmerizing sound of Jakob Elvstrøm's saxophone and strong melodic sense.
Inspired and influenced by David Sanborn, Dave Koz and Candy Dulfer, "SaxClub vol.1" is a well-produced and very personal contribution to the funky smooth jazz scene of today.
And don't forget to see the funky musicvideo starring mr. Elvstrøm's vintage VW Passat, an elephant, BassIda and Miss Mukupa.



to write a review