Order 3 or more CDs and get 1¢ domestic shipping through 03/31/2020.
Jamie Narushchen | Narushchen After Hours: Original Ballet Music for Ballet Class

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
George Gershwin Scott Joplin Сергей Сергеевич Прокофьев

Album Links
Narushchen's Website (JAN Records)

More Artists From
United States - California - SF

Other Genres You Will Love
Classical: Ballet Classical: Piano solo Moods: Featuring Piano
There are no items in your wishlist.

Narushchen After Hours: Original Ballet Music for Ballet Class

by Jamie Narushchen

San Francisco Ballet pianist Jamie Narushchen rolls out his long-awaited CD of original music for ballet class. American in essence, Narushchen's music is a fresh amalgam of his vast harmonic vocabulary and shades of his favorite composers.
Genre: Classical: Ballet
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Warm-up
2:35 album only
2. Plie
2:11 album only
3. Slow Tendu
1:55 album only
4. Tendu
1:16 album only
5. Tendu With Temps Lie
1:37 album only
6. Quick Tendu
1:13 album only
7. Degage
1:00 album only
8. Rond De Jambe A Terre
1:59 album only
9. Fondu
1:25 album only
10. Frappe
1:12 album only
11. Rond De Jambe L'air In 3/4
1:26 album only
12. Rond De Jambe L'air In 4/4
1:23 album only
13. Petite Battement
0:53 album only
14. Developpe In 4/4
2:31 album only
15. Developpe In 3/4
1:53 album only
16. Grand Battement
1:32 album only
17. Port De Bras
2:14 album only
18. Battement En Cloche
0:41 album only
19. Stretch
2:39 album only
20. Center Tendu
1:09 album only
21. Adagio In 3/4
2:18 album only
22. Adagio In 4/4
1:32 album only
23. Balance + Pirouette
2:28 album only
24. Grand Battement
1:14 album only
25. First Jump
0:53 album only
26. Quick Jump
0:52 album only
27. Quick Jump II
0:53 album only
28. Sissonne
1:04 album only
29. Pique Turns
0:54 album only
30. Coda
1:34 album only
31. Grand Allegro
1:47 album only
32. Bourree/reverence
1:18 album only
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Performed on a Steinway concert grand and tested on hundreds of ballet classes in SF, this is a great class CD to own this fall. Note: Exercises are printed on the back of the case and on its one-page CD insert.

About Narushchen After Hours

When he's not meeting the demands of The San Francisco Ballet during the day, Jamie Narushchen is often found freely improvising music for drop-in adult ballet classes at popular studios in the evening.

After years of being asked to make a ballet class CD of his own music, Jamie Narushchen finally delivered Narushchen After Hours in August 2008 to dancers and instructors in the Bay Area and beyond. Whether it's Gershwin-inspired degages, impressionistic bourrees, or expansive adagios that nod to Prokofiev, Narushchen After Hours is an exceptional collection of original music that will keep your students inspired and moving.

You'll hear subtle, recurring motifs and progressions that make this CD thoughtfully cohesive, but Mr. Narushchen was also careful about maintaining a high degree of individuality in every piece to keep the collection diverse, emotive, and fun.

Ballet Class Format (on the back of the CD and on the insert):

1. Warm-up slow 3/4 intro+64+8
2. Plie slow 3/4 intro+ 64+4
3. Slow Tendu even 2/4 intro+32+32 faster+16 stretch+4
4. Tendu ragtime 2/4 intro+64
5. Tendu w/Temps lie lyrical 3/4 intro+48
6. Quick Tendu lively 2/4 intro+64+32 faster
7. Degage lively 2/4 intro +64
8. Rond de jambe a terre med 3/4 intro+64+2
9. Fondu tango 2/4 intro + 64
10. Frappe syncopated 2/4 intro+64+16
11. Rond de jambe en l'air in 3/4 playful 3/4 intro+64
12. Rond de jambe en l'air in 4/4 steady 4/4 intro+32
13. Petite Battement fast 2/4 intro+32+16 stretch
14. Developpe in 4/4 slow 4/4 intro+32+2
15. Developpe in 3/4 slow 3/4 intro+48
16. Grand Battement cheerful march 2/4 intro+64
17. Port de bras lyrical 3/4 intro+64
18. Battement en cloche lively 3/4 intro+32
19. Stretch med 3/4 intro+80+4

20. Center Tendu med 2/4 intro+32
21. Adagio in 3/4 slow 3/4 intro+64
22. Adagio in 4/4 very slow 4/4 intro+16+1
23. Balance + Pirouette ragtime waltz intro+128
24. Grand Battement + Pirouette med 2/4 intro+48
25. First Jump bouncy 2/4 intro+32
26. Quick Jump light 2/4 intro+32
27. Quick Jump II lively 2/4 intro+32
28. Sissonne lively 6/8 intro+32
29. Pique Turns fast 6/8 intro+32
30. Coda fast 2/4 intro+96
31. Grand Allegro med 3/4 intro+96
32. Bourree/Reverence flowing 3/4 intro+48

About The Musician:

Jamie Narushchen was born and raised in Minneapolis and began studying piano with his grandmother at age six. He studied piano performance at Johns Hopkins' Peabody Conservatory, and he joined The San Francisco Ballet as an accompanist shortly after moving out west. His strong interest in improvisation led him to take additional coursework in composition at The San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

Throughout his twenty-four years at SF Ballet, he has regularly provided accompaniment for the West Coast auditions held by The American Ballet Theatre, The Julliard School, The Boston Ballet and others. He also enjoys the opportunity to play for Mark Morris's and Suzanne Farrell's classes when they visit the Bay Area. When he's not playing the piano, he's usually at home playing with his kids.



to write a review

Debra Rogo

Narushchen After Hours
This is a wonderful class CD. Would love more from Mr. Narushchen. Jamie thank you for letting me know about CD Baby - I love it!
Debra Rogo

Galina Alexandrova

Artistic Director City Ballet School
I love this CD. It is a very useful tool in class and is very well crafted. I want to see more!
Galina Alexandrova - Director City Ballet School San Francisco

Richard Cammack

Artistic Director, Contra Costa Ballet
This is CD offers great contemporary music for intermediate and advanced ballet class - light, rhythmic and musical. I highly recommend it!!

Viktor Kabaniaev

After Hours
Great CD!!! Very comfortable tempos and beautiful original music. Love to teach with this CD. Would wish, Mr. Narushchen would produce more volumes more often.