Jay Matsueda | Live Plus Five

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Damien Rice The Smiths Tracy Chapman

More Artists From
United States - California - LA

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock Jazz: Jazz-Rock Moods: Type: Lyrical
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Live Plus Five

by Jay Matsueda

The 5 bonus tracks from Lmtd Ed cd "Live Plus Five" (2011). Songs include covers of Tracy Chapman's "Change" and "Bigmouth Strikes Again" by The Smiths. Session drummers include Matt Johnson (Grace) and Parker Kindred (Sketches) of Jeff Buckley's band.
Genre: Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Silence I Despise (Devin Bronson Remix)
3:53 $0.99
2. Change
4:00 $0.99
3. Somewhere Inside is a Goodbye
4:03 $0.99
4. Bigmouth Strikes Again
3:41 $0.99
5. Recapture the Thrill of Yesterday
4:20 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Available for download under this "Live Plus Five" album title are the 5 Bonus Studio Tracks which initially appeared on a Limited Edition CD of Live material from a 5/26/10 Los Angeles concert. (In other words, these are the "Plus Five" of "Live Plus Five.") That disc was literally only produced in QTY 50 as a promotional device and is now out of print (OOP). These 5 studio tracks, however, represent a part of Jay Matsueda's permanent catalog and include:

1) SILENCE I DESPISE (DEVIN BRONSON REMIX) - The first edit of this song appeared on album "Treat Love Kind" (2010) with relatively minor distorted guitar undercurrents contributed by Devin Bronson, a touring and session guitarist who works with Avril Lavigne, Pink, etc. However, he had contributed to a more wild version with a hard rock solo portion in the bridge, synth keyboard effects, and other studio tricks. This is his original vision for the song. It includes session personnel Matt Johnson on drums (of Jeff Buckley's band on album "Grace" and who has also played with Rufus Wainwright), Jerry Watts, Jr. on bass (has played with everyone from Andy Summers of The Police to Billy Idol, Jefferson Airplane, Herbie Hancock, Sheryl Crow and Steve Vai), Brett Garsed on electric guitar (a virtuoso from Australia who tours on the strength of his own name), and Jay Matsueda on vocals and acoustic guitar.

2) CHANGE - This song was written by Tracy Chapman and is produced here as a re-invention of the original with a modified arrangement and much different feel and tempo. This version uses unique layers of a half dozen percussion instruments, drumkit for a sense of build on choruses and in the bridge, electric guitar for hook, violin and viola for continued elaborate texturing and solid electric bass as a foundation. Personnel include session musicians Parker Kindred on drums (played several tracks on Jeff Buckley's posthumously released "Sketches For My Sweetheart the Drunk" album), Brad Dutz on percussion, Edwin Livingston on bass (touring musician who has played with everyone from Natalie Cole to Stanley Jordan), Katie Kresek from NYC on violin and viola, Jason Orme on electric guitar, Greg Paxton on supplemental cymbals, and Jay Matsueda on vocals and acoustic guitar.

3) SOMEWHERE INSIDE IS A GOODBYE - This is Matsueda's newest original song and one of his favorites. The vocals are effected to take on a new, eerie quality to match the lyrical content. The recording again features Parker Kindred on drums; Parker's drumming was literally recorded in the same NYC studio where he used to practice when he was in Jeff Buckley's band. It features Edwin Livingston on upright bass, Jason Orme on electric guitar, and Jay Matsueda on vocals and acoustic guitar.

4) BIGMOUTH STRIKES AGAIN - Circa 2004-2007 (?) at the height of their increasing popularity, Matsueda was close with the members of a now dis-banded Warner Brothers rock group called "maxeen." It was a trio, but near their last days, they swapped out guitarists, so across time there were 4 members of the group. Matsueda's concept was to get them all recorded on one track together in a way that never actually occurred in real life either live or in studio. The drummer and each of the two guitarists tracked separately on different days likely around the 2008 or 2009 timeframe. (Yes, this track had been "in progress" for years.) At the crucial moment that this track was being completed for release in 2011, the bassist was not available to record, despite previously vocalizing willingness to participate. To solve this dilemma, Matsueda literally "constructed" and "compiled" bass playing that this bassist recorded for him in 2005 on early versions of two songs that, with use of other bassists, eventually made it onto Jay's debut album "Eat Your Sad." So, the tone of the bass that you are hearing on this cover by The Smiths, and the playing and the attacks of the notes, etc., are truly by the bassist in maxeen, however, he did not choose the note order at all. In addition to the "maxeen quartet" described above, additional personnel includes Kate Higgins on backing vocals (the English voice of "Sakura Haruno" on the anime series Naruto, "Talho Yūki" from Eureka Seven, "C.C." from Code Geass and "Saber" from the anime Fate/stay Night), and Jay Matsueda on vocals and acoustic guitar.

5) RECAPTURE THE THRILL OF YESTERDAY is a one-take, non-edited version of a late 60's song originally recorded by a psychedelic British rock group called Dantalian's Chariot, led by vocalist Zoot Money. Jay Matsueda performs this brilliant song solo with just an acoustic guitar.

Additional Credits:

All Tracks Mixed & Mastered by RICH BREEN.
Mixing Consultation by TIM YALDA.
Primary Recording Engineering by GREG PAXTON.

Cover painting by LOLA RAMONA based on Jay's song "Don't Wait (Until We Lose Our Way Home)," available only as a Bonus Track on the physical version of album "Eat Your Sad" with a black cover (one of 3 physical versions with unique Bonus Tracks available from his official web page).

©2011 Jay Matsueda. All Rights Reserved.



to write a review