Jeff Jensen | Wisdom & Decay

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Bob Dylan Tom Waits Wes Montgomery

More Artists From
United States - Tennessee

Other Genres You Will Love
Blues: Memphis Blues Blues: Blues-Rock Moods: Type: Lyrical
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Wisdom & Decay

by Jeff Jensen

"Wisdom & Decay" is the follow up studio album of "Morose Elephant", released April 2018
Genre: Blues: Memphis Blues
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. I'm Living off the Love You Give
4:34 $0.99
2. 2000 Days
4:58 $0.99
3. Pretend Forevers
6:23 $0.99
4. Good Woman Back Home
4:37 $0.99
5. Downtown
5:01 $0.99
6. Luck Is Gonna Change
4:16 $0.99
7. What We Used to Be
3:35 $0.99
8. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here with You
4:12 $0.99
9. Something in the Water
4:14 $0.99
10. The Water Jam
5:54 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
“Wisdom & Decay” is an evolution in the artistry of Eccentric American Blues artists, Jeff Jensen. Showcasing 7 original songs and 3 interpretations, this album features Jensen’s best writing and producing to date. Lyrically significant, emotionally vulnerable, and super creative; these songs are steeped in rootsy blues and poetic soul.

This album kicks off with Little Milton’s “I’m Living Off The Love You Give”, a fiery soulful performance paying tribute to the band’s hometown of Memphis, TN. Then on to originals, “2000 Days” is a haunting story of overcoming serious struggle, anyone that is or has ever struggled with addiction will feel this one. “Pretend Forevers” is a super charged emotional story about the inevitable outcome of long term relationships, this song will hit anyone that has ever lost someone; be it a parent, a spouse or simply a failed long term significant relationship, this track will hit home. “Pretend Forevers” features a beautiful string quartet recorded at Sam Phillips Studio in Memphis, TN, it brings back the old Chess Records style of producing blues that you find in the great Etta James classics.

Another album highlight is “Luck is Gonna Change”, an old gospel style original about doing everything the wrong way and hoping for a better outcome, lyrically deep and intentional, this song is filled with witty lyrics and a sound message. “What We Used To Be” is a dark comedy about the American perspective today, not a political message but representative of the constant noice we hear daily. “Something in the Water” and “Water Jam” is one for the guitar fans out there, these tracks feature the energy and creativity Jeff Jensen and his tour band, Bill Ruffino and David Green, bring to the stage night after night.

As Jeff’s career as a frontman/entertainer progresses so does his resume as a producer, this album features Jensen’s development in both fields. Intentional, articulate, beautifully arranged and wonderful recording quality. “Wisdom & Decay” was created using all real musicians, all real instruments on all analog equipment.

The growth in Jensen on this album is felt from the first note to the last, his voice is strong, soulful, and more passionate than ever, his guitar is even more creative and recognizable. And the band is simply on fire. “Wisdom & Decay” is possibly their best work to date.



to write a review