Jim Ottaway | Invisible Vortex

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Edgar Froese Loom Tangerine Dream

Album Links
Jim's website

More Artists From
AUSTRALIA - Queensland

Other Genres You Will Love
Electronic: Electronica Rock: Instrumental Rock Moods: Instrumental
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Invisible Vortex

by Jim Ottaway

An electrifying electronic album from Australian synthesist, Jim Ottaway, featuring 13 captivating tracks.
Genre: Electronic: Electronica
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Come Dance With Me
4:40 $0.99
2. Alien Cries
4:46 $0.99
3. Takin' the Time (2015) [feat. Rick Fenn]
5:24 $0.99
4. Invisible Vortex
4:56 $0.99
5. Delicate Nature
4:50 $0.99
6. Just Another Dream
8:57 $0.99
7. Call for Peace
4:50 $0.99
8. One Step At a Time
4:50 $0.99
9. The Long Haul
2:35 $0.99
10. Over the Edge
8:25 $0.99
11. Of Unknown Origin
3:50 $0.99
12. Follow the Lead
4:25 $0.99
13. Call for Peace (Chill Out Mix)
11:20 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
***** #1 album *****
'Invisible Vortex' peaked at #1 for two months on One World Music Radio Top 100 Chart in May and June 2016.

'Invisible Vortex' is an electrifying electronic album from award-winning Australian synthesist, Jim Ottaway. If you like Tangerine Dream you will love this album. Electronic rock at its best!

The album features 13 great tracks including 'Takin' the Time (2015)' which features the brilliant guitar work of Rick Fenn, from legendary British band 10cc, and 'Just Another Dream' which is a tribute to the soundtracks of Tangerine Dream including 'Risky Business', 'Thief' and 'Sorcerer'.

'Invisible Vortex' is dedicated to the memory of Edgar Froese (1944 - 2015) and Kevin Underwood (1932 - 2013).

'Invisible Vortex' was nominated for Best Chill/Groove Album at the Zone Music Reporter Awards held in New Orleans in May 2017. It was also nominated in the People's Choice Award at the 2016 One World Music Radio Awards.

Jim Ottaway is an Australian composer, producer and studio performer of original instrumental music covering many genres including electronic, space ambient, rock, dance, new age and music for film and television.

The inspiration for Jim’s music stems from his love of nature and his spiritual connection to the beautiful environment of the Gold Coast hinterland of Queensland, Australia.

Jim’s major musical influences include Tangerine Dream, Edgar Froese, Vangelis, Pink Floyd, Enigma, Johannes Schmoelling, Christopher Buckman, Tony O'Connor, Christopher Franke, Lisa Gerrard, Code Indigo, Gary Wright and Radio Massacre International.

'Invisible Vortex', released on 1 May 2015, is Jim's 22nd independent album in his homeland, Australia.

Since 2010 twelve of Jim's tracks have been chosen as a finalist in various Australian music/songwriting awards.

Contact Jim at jim@jimottaway.com.



to write a review

Candice Michelle

Review from Journeyscapes Radio
Jim Ottaway is an electronic music composer from Australia, whose album “Invisible Vortex” was created using an impressive array of electronic music gear and equipment, including several different keyboards and synthesizers. Dedicated in part to the memory of Tangerine Dream founder, Edgar Froese (1944-2015), notable influences of musical styles spanning several decades are evident, in particular, 80s-era European electronic music, 90s-era trance-techno, modern electronica, chill-out and a touch of progressive rock.

The highly energetic “Come Dance with Me” opens the album with a trance-techno dance-floor beat, digital bleeps and scratchy sounds, as the listener embarks on an interstellar voyage through space and time. “Alien Cries” follows next, which is characterized by a pronounced bassline and an electronic rock rhythm. Finally giving way to what is perhaps the album’s pinnacle, is a track called “Takin’ the Time”. Featuring Rick Fenn of the 70s-era British rock group 10cc on guitar, this incredible piece evokes the wonders of the universe, with its intergalactic, otherworldly tone, which is conveyed by swirling chimes, voice-like effects, and a potent driving rhythm. Right from the opening sequencers on “Just Another Dream”, which is a lighter trance-techno track, I could detect the nod to Tangerine Dream; perhaps not surprising, since the piece is a glowing tribute to the band’s soundtracks for "Risky Business", "Thief" and "Sorcerer". “Call for Peace" is another favorite, a slower piece led by a pronounced staccato down-beat and alternating hazy, distorted effects. A bonus ‘Chill Out Mix’ of the same tune closes out the album, clocking in at a full eleven minutes and twenty seconds. This slower-paced alternate version is equably carried along by a muffled breakbeat, until it eventually drifts away into oblivion.

Jim Ottaway has done a stellar job of connecting the past with the future on “Invisible Vortex”, by combining the sensibilities of both vintage and modern electronic music. The compositions herein explore the limitless bounds of space and time, sending the listener soaring above the stratosphere and cruising into the cosmos. The highly outgoing, dynamic and active nature of this album makes for a thoroughly rewarding sonic adventure, which will certainly appeal to electronic music enthusiasts who enjoy aural concepts exploring science fiction and retro-futuristic worlds.