John Michael Hersey | Fifteen Years

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Elvis Costello Joe Jackson John Lennon

More Artists From
United States - NY - New York City

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock Pop: Pop/Rock Moods: Solo Male Artist
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Fifteen Years

by John Michael Hersey

John Michael Hersey is a singer/songwriter known for his sophisticated yet accessible melding of rock, pop, folk, blues and country. Hersey is first and foremost a storyteller, one who happens to play a mean guitar.
Genre: Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd-rp in stock order now
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 20% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Like a Vagabond
4:05 $0.99
2. Magic Magic
3:05 $0.99
3. Strange Strange Sea
2:44 $0.99
4. The Color of My Skin
4:53 $0.99
5. Here in the Middle
2:24 $0.99
6. The Storm Sometimes
4:53 $0.99
7. Brave New Man
7:08 $0.99
8. Times Arrow
5:53 $0.99
9. One Track Mind
3:45 $0.99
10. Clowns Cry Too
2:51 $0.99
11. You Don't Care
3:40 $0.99
12. Another Night
4:27 $0.99
13. The Skin I'm In
3:07 $0.99
14. One
3:46 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Fifteen Years is a selection of previously unreleased recordings from 1986 to 2001 featuring the evolving singing, guitar playing and songwriting of John Michael Hersey.

“Like a Vagabond” and “Magic, Magic” were recorded in 1986 at NYU and feature Katherine Bescherer on guitar and vocals, Kurt Gundersen on bass, Dore Abrams on piano and Adam Weber on drums. “Strange, Strange Sea,” (co-written with John Carney and Michael Vassaras) “The Color of My Skin” and “Here in the Middle” (co-written with Vassaras) were recorded at Harold Desau Recording in NYC in 1988 and feature Peter Millrose on keyboards, Al Cohen on bass and Tass Filipos on drums. “The Storm Sometimes,” “Brave New Man” and “Time’s Arrow” were recorded at Waterfront Studios in Hoboken, NJ in 1991 and feature Millrose on keyboards, Randy Gilmore on sax, Darren Solomon on bass and Jeff Ballard on drums. “One Track Mind,” (co-written with David Sykes and William “Prez” Tyus) “Clowns Cry Too,” “You Don’t Care,” (both co-written with Tyus) “Another Night,” (co-written with Sykes and Tyus) “The Skin I’m In” (co-written with Jack Kolkmeyer and Tyus) and “One” (co-written with Sykes and Tyus) were recorded at DSP in NYC between 1999 and 2001 and feature David Sykes on keyboards, Bob DesJardins on bass and John DiGiulio on drums.

The front cover photo was taken by Georgia Popplewell and the back cover photo by Ettore Toppi. All tracks were master by Rich Gaglia.

Hersey has released seven other albums of original material: Soup Du Jour (1999), Whirligig (2003), Mr. Lucky [with Speedo and the Cadillacs] (2004), How Am I Here? (2007), Adirondack (2014), You Got to Me (2016) and Personal Belongings (2017).



to write a review