Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ postal shipping
Jon Shain | Reupholstered

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
John Hiatt Mississippi John Hurt The Band

More Artists From
United States - North Carolina

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Folk Rock Pop: Folky Pop Moods: Type: Acoustic
There are no items in your wishlist.


by Jon Shain

An eclectic album of cover tunes from Hank Williams and Harry Nilsson to Elliott Smith and Paul Simon, all filtered through Jon Shain's fingerstyle roots-blues style and supported by some of North Carolina's finest musicians.
Genre: Rock: Folk Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 20% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Social Disease
4:55 $0.99
2. California Zephyr
2:46 $0.99
3. Peace Like a River
3:07 $0.99
4. Clementine
2:38 $0.99
5. It's Not Happening
2:49 $0.99
6. Good Old Desk
2:39 $0.99
7. Anything Goes
3:10 $0.99
8. Galveston
2:28 $0.99
9. Never My Love
2:48 $0.99
10. Sip the Wine (I Want to Lay Down Beside You)
5:31 $0.99
11. Let the Mermaids Flirt With Me
3:44 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Reupholstered started as a late-night idea of producer Jackson Hall, a frequent collaborator with NC roots/blues guitarist and songwriter Jon Shain. The idea—Hall assigns a favorite song each month for a year, Shain works up an arrangement, and they record a new cover version in Hall’s home studio. These would be tunes that Shain would not necessarily be familiar with and artist vetoes were highly discouraged by Hall. In fact, the working title of the album was “Jackson Made Me.”

But, instead of assigning songs by Piedmont blues artists or other “more obvious” choices, Hall came up with a quirky list of pop tunes from the last 75 years. They hang together well (at times, surprisingly so). The early part of the 20th century is represented with songs by Cole Porter, Mississippi John Hurt, and Hank Williams. The 60s era is represented in Jimmy Webb’s classic “Galveston” and “Never My Love” (usually associated with the Association). The 70s brings us B-sides by Harry Nilsson, Elton John, Paul Simon, and Rick Danko, while more modern songwriters Elliott Smith and Frazey Ford (of the Be Good Tanyas) round out the collection.

What started as just a lark of a recording project quickly developed into a more ambitious effort. In addition to Shain’s live group—FJ Ventre, John Currie, and Ecki Heins (bass, dobro, and fiddle, respectively)—Shain and Hall leaned on their wide circle of North Carolina-based musical friends to augment the recording. Upcoming singer-songwriter Lizzy Ross lent her vocals, as did The Old Ceremony’s Mark Simonsen, along with the brilliant duo Birds and Arrows. Bill Newton added harmonica and soprano sax. Joe Newberry played a mean clawhammer banjo. Josh Starmer contributed a string arrangement. Tom Maxwell and Nick Stevens joined Shain and Ventre for a live take of Rick Danko and Tim Drummond’s obscure track “Sip the Wine.” Shain also added bass, piano, lap steel, and mandolin tracks, as well.

Mixed in FJ Ventre’s Good Luck Studio in Chapel Hill, NC, the result is a very eclectic album—some tunes you’ll recognize, some you won’t. There’s a lot of nice picking and collaborations, along with the pleasure of discovering new old songs. Sit back in your favorite old chair and enjoy!



to write a review