Mark Prince | Fraction of Infinity

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Dapp Theory Me'Shell NdegéOcello Terence Blanchard

Album Links
PayPlay Apple iTunes Emusic official website Mark's Myspace page Tradebit

More Artists From
United States - Washington DC

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Progressive Jazz Jazz: Jazz-Funk Moods: Solo Male Artist
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Fraction of Infinity

by Mark Prince

Fresh, melodic, and innovative progressive Jazz with potent doses of Funk and R&B. An emphasis on good songwriting, and strong performances make this album an enjoyable listen.
Genre: Jazz: Progressive Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Rite of Passage
6:30 $0.99
2. Abena's Last Stand
7:57 $0.99
3. August (for Karen) ft. Geno Young
4:26 $0.99
4. The Grind
1:54 $0.99
5. Gnosis
3:56 $0.99
6. Friendly Fire
5:55 $0.99
7. The Healing
1:10 $0.99
8. Quiet Thoroughfare
4:50 $0.99
9. Symph. No. 5/ Dance of the Enchanted
6:01 $0.99
10. August (alternate instrumental take)
4:31 $0.99
11. Gratitude (for Ma)
5:28 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Mark Prince’s – Fraction of Infinity

Since 1995, Mark Prince has made a name for himself on the international scene, primarily as the drummer for artists such as: Andy Milne’s Dapp Theory, Bobby Lyle, Jennifer Holliday, Fertile Ground, and a host of other important artists.

After scores of tour dates, hundreds of recording sessions, and countless contributions as a sideman, Mark Prince places himself front and center with his powerful debut album as a leader – Fraction of Infinity.

Joined by a stellar rhythm section including Federico Gonzalez Pena (Me’shell Ndegeocello, Cassandra Wilson, Bebel Gilberto) on piano and keyboards, and Michael Bowie (Abbey Lincoln, Betty Carter, Michel Camilo) on acoustic and electric bass, Mark showcases his potent songwriting skills with 10 all original compositions ranging from straight ahead Jazz to Funk, Soul, and Fusion. All bases are covered in this debut outing on Contour Records.

Personnel also includes:

Alvin White: guitar
DeAndre Shaifer: Trumpet & Flugel Horn
Greg Boyer: Trombone
David White: Tenor Sax & Flute
David Merlin-Jones: Soprano Sax
Geno Young: Vocal



to write a review

Alonzo Wright

This cd is a breath of fresh air. Original compositons and arrangements that are excellently performed. It is a credit to the musicality of the leader; who is a drummer and composer of this material. AMAZING !!!!!

Tanya Headley

Great Work
I love the entire album and will recommend it highly to anyone I can. Keep up the great work - especially composing music.