Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ shipping
Matt Mannino | Young Roots Breaking Through

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Imagination Movers Raffi The Wiggles

More Artists From
United States - New Jersey

Other Genres You Will Love
Kids/Family: Children's Pop Folk: Children's Folk Moods: Type: Lyrical
There are no items in your wishlist.

Young Roots Breaking Through

by Matt Mannino

Songs of childhood joy from simple things with a message of compassion, hope and understanding to be enjoyed by both parent and child.
Genre: Kids/Family: Children's Pop
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. It's Raining
2:54 $0.99
2. Once There Was a Soy Bean
2:07 $0.99
3. The Best Rubberband in the Land
2:21 $0.99
4. The Alphabet Song
2:57 $0.99
5. Have You Seen My Booboo?
3:02 $0.99
6. New Shoes
2:47 $0.99
7. You're Addy, I'm Matty
2:27 $0.99
8. Precious
3:26 $0.99
9. The Mighty 409
2:24 $0.99
10. The Leaves
3:01 $0.99
11. Christmas Time in Buffalo
3:54 $0.99
12. The Cowboy
3:27 $0.99
13. I Listen to the Music
3:08 $0.99
14. Pick'en Chicken Pox
1:48 $0.99
15. Outtakes
4:44 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Songs on this album speak to childhood joy from simple things: a rainy day, a rubberband, a bit of food and vanishing booboos. They recall a time when driving a train or being a cowboy were aspirational goals for a distant future life. How the growing years reveal and stretch our children’s character by embracing new friends and absorbing disappointment. Most importantly these songs recognize how precious every child is and the vulnerability we feel as parents when we introduce them to what awaits in a sometimes dangerous world.

I envision this album to be enjoyed by a parent with their child during a moment of peace in a hectic day, like bed time, morning quiet time or on a rainy day.  I'm hopeful these songs will grow in meaning upon each listen for both parent and child, with each story twist and sensitive moment finding relevance in the listener's daily life.

1. It’s Raining (Introduction by Addy Thompson): Melodic and lighthearted transition from gloom to joy on a rainy day.
2. Once I had a Soy Bean: Intended for singing in a group - shoutouts encouraged - now that soy bean's part of me!
3. The Best Rubberband in the Land (Background by Danny and the Boingers recorded in 1995): True story of a special rubberband.
4. The Alphabet Song (Introduction by Addy Thompson, background by Grandpa’s Guppies): Playful use of letters as words.
5. Have You Seen My Booboo? (Background by Grandpa’s Guppies): The booboo's gone! Like magic, we all heal.
6. New Shoes: The experience of growing needing new shoes, new clothes - and new friends.
7. You’re Addy, I’m Matty: Touching story of vulnerability, doubt and reaching out, told to an inviting melody and enchanting flute/ guitar interlude.
8. Precious: The silliness of a child's explanation of our crazy world reminds us of how precious they are. (Originally released on Brooklyn Roots Breaking Through published 2016)
9. The Mighty 409: Sam rides on top and waves to all at each whistle stop!
10. The Leaves: Sometimes it's better to just "do the time" even though you did not "do the crime". Moms take note!
11. Christmas Time in Buffalo: A touching tale of growth through disappointment, achieving a higher level of joy. Includes an enchanting flute/ guitar interlude.
12. The Cowboy: A child's dream of riding the range to playful lyrics and melody.
13. I Listen to the Music: Reminiscent of a child's focus of "something else".
14. Pick’en Chicken Pox: Clapping to the beat for a once common childhood ailment.
15. Outtakes: A delightful eavesdropping on three year old Addy Thompson’s interaction with her older brother Matthew while recording The Alphabet Song, and attempts to have two year old Cessy Mannino shout out “No!” for use on Have You Seen My Booboo. Listen closely, all the fun's in the background comments!

Album Credits:
- All songs written and performed by Matt Mannino. Copyright Matt Mannino.
- Guitar accompaniment, sound engineering and production by Bob Blatchley (Baldaddy Studios, Long Island NY). Flute by Claire Kolensky. Country guitar by Guy Pezzullo. Harmonica by Charlie Libassi.
- Character set font for cover titling by Serafina Thompson.
- Grandpa’s Guppies: Lucia Mannino, Cessy Mannino, Matthew Thompson, Serafina Thompson and Addy Thompson.
- Danny and the Boingers: Daniel Mannino, Tammy Glaser, Aaron Mednick, Eric Malone, Tim Song recorded in 1995 at Cotton Hill Studios, Albany, NY.
- Cover concept design by Daniel A Mannino, DAM RAD Consulting.



to write a review