Max Corbacho | Lost Links

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Michael Stearns Robert Rich Steve Roach

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Electronic: Ambient New Age: Space Moods: Mood: Dreamy
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Lost Links

by Max Corbacho

Max Corbacho presents a collection of previously unreleased tracks under the label Relaxed Machinery. Created with synths, sequencers and atmospheres the seven pieces on Lost Links, running 67 minutes in total, cover Max’s typically vast sonic range.
Genre: Electronic: Ambient
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Earthflow Trance
7:20 album only
2. Sky Resonance
6:07 album only
3. Third Exposure
5:42 album only
4. One True Light
16:12 album only
5. Mandala
12:33 album only
6. After Dream
5:54 album only
7. Slow Thunder
13:16 album only
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Deleted, unreleased and forgotten tracks.

Max Corbacho presents a collection of previously unreleased tracks under the label Relaxed Machinery. Some of these pieces belong to the era prior to The Talisman, as in the case of Slow Thunder, Sky Resonance, Trance Earthflow, Third Exposure and Mandala. Trance Earthflow was specially composed for a concert in 2005. Two of them, One True Light and Mandala, were created during the sessions of BreathStream. After Dream is the newest piece, composed during the recording of Ars Lucis.

"All these pieces were created to appear on previously published albums. For various reasons, they were not included, and remained in my archives. I usually do not delete any of my pieces; I know that, at some point, simply because of the passing of time, they acquire a special character, and their time to be revealed appears."

"Mr Corbacho oncemore hits the mark with his expressive, highly textural and deep music, bathening ambient music fans in a comfortable sonic haven of detailed cinematic soundscapes and outerworldly realms."
Bert Strolenberg -

Lost Links (Relaxed Machinery 0018) is a new collection of “lost pieces” from ambient-electronic wizard Max Corbacho, created during 2003-09 for other albums, but left out “for various reasons”. Fortunately, Max saved them for another day.

Created with synths, sequencers and atmospheres, the seven pieces on Lost Links, running 67 minutes in total, cover Max’s typically vast sonic range while sharing – given the circumstances – surprisingly common ground. All of the music has Max’s trademark sublimity, luminosity and depth.

You may find it difficult at first to choose favorites, as I did. They may emerge later. I admit to being partial to longer pieces, and there are three gems here, in the 12-16 minute range. The longest, the beautifully meditative One True Light, flows by effortlessly in no time, with wildly-bouncing glassy/reedy melodic sequences (like particles in the light) and brightly-lit pads. It’s followed by Mandala, thick with texture and color, rich tendrils of each chord spiraling out from the center, dazzling in its veiled effulgence.

The other long track, Slow Thunder, closes the album with 13 minutes of rich bass and ghostly chords, building and foreboding, all breathing like a big weather system. The piece is leisurely and perfectly paced, resisting any urge to hurry, its dramatic intensity quietly building – the feeling reminding me of Steve Roach’s wonderful Dynamic Stillness album, to which I was irresistibly drawn immediately afterwards.

The album opens very strongly with Earthflow Trance, a mystic, deep-earth illumination. This piece placed me in a cave cathedral, its blazing, eerie pitch-bent chords, thrilling and tantalizing dissonances, and roaring didgeridoo-like bass adding up to an irresistible mixture of searing etherea and deep earthcore. The glassy organ-like sheen of After Dream, with tones racing off into space, swells and contracts like a cosmic harmonium.

Sky Resonance and Third Exposure share a common mood of deep serenity, in contrasting modes: the former a darkish light, with the thrilling feel of discovery. An uplifting progression leaves us floating and soaring, feeling joy and wonder in encountering the unknown. This is the most common feeling I have in listening to Max’s music. The latter piece, with its night-like sounds, follows the bliss of a fine sunset and comforting twilight.

As is usual for Max’s albums, the artwork simply must be mentioned here. Max created the cover image himself with Apophysis software. It is vast, brilliant, gorgeously designed and sublimely beautiful. Steve Brand, Relaxed Machinery’s resident album designer, handles the package layout with his usual deft hand.

Lost Links is a perfect introduction to Max Corbacho’s music. If Max’s music is new to you, when you hear the quality of these pieces – leftovers from Max’s other albums – you will find it hard to resist discovering how great those albums are. That is an ongoing, joyful process: in my view, Max is one of our top-ranked ambient-electronic artists. His music is, quite simply, unforgettable, essential listening.

Lost Links is another strong release from the rapidly-growing Relaxed Machinery label.
By eyes cast down, on June 24th, 2011



to write a review

Richard Gurtler

Beautifully floating collection of archived deep tranquil soundscapes!!!
Spanish Maestro of deep tranquil soundscapes returns with a very nice collection of, as mentioned on the booklet, deleted, unreleased and forgotten tracks on ambitious US label Relaxed Machinery. Really nice effort, because Max Corbacho belongs undoubtedly to the most respected and potential European ambient composers and certainly it would be a pity not to reveal some of these rare tracks even if they maybe weren't good enough to make the final roster of gems like "Ars Lucis", "BreathStream" or "The Talisman" for example. The collection opens with "Earthflow Trance", a truly serene celestial journey with slowly evolving and rotating texture precisely displaying spectacular cover artwork (created by Max). Beautifully floating "Sky Resonance" with strong yearning effect reaches even "The Lost Pieces" territory of The Master who might influenced successful career of this Barcelona based artist. Highlighting "Third Exposure" with its deeply organic ambience is a really delightful late night wandering, but this gracious journey flows also through the next two compositions, "One True Light" and "Mandala", I think both these ecstatic pieces might fit easily to "BreathStream" album, wonderful voyages!!! Graceful slow-motion drifs on "After Dream" are recalling phenomenal "Ars Lucis" album while the closing ethereal "Slow Thunder" is sligtly less massive and more breathing. A very nice mesmerizing conclusion of these "Lost Links"! Even if recorded in longer period of time, all tracks work perfectly together as a whole and I am very glad Max has saved all of them for this collection. And my big thanks go also to Relaxed Machinery for bringing these archived recordings into the light, I hope this compilation won't be the last of its kind. Last but not least, stay tuned for new collaborative work with Bruno Sanfilippo entitled "Bioma", that is scheduled for release later this year on their own ad21music input.

Richard Gürtler (Bratislava, Slovakia)