Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ postal shipping
Michael Eckroth Group | Toque Del Sol

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Gonzalo Rubalcaba Herbie Hancock Peruchín

More Artists From
United States - NY - New York City

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Latin Jazz Latin: Cuban Jazz Moods: Featuring Piano
There are no items in your wishlist.

Toque Del Sol

by Michael Eckroth Group

This EP release takes off from the ground set by the Piano and Rhythm album, with a collection of tunes drawn from a variety of Latin jazz idioms- featuring both the piano and Fender Rhodes in a sextet setting.
Genre: Jazz: Latin Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Rumba in Three
4:24 $0.99
2. Sun Touch
5:26 $0.99
3. V.L.T.
4:07 $0.99
4. Village Gate
2:44 $0.99
5. Untitled Mozambique
3:10 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
This digital E.P. presents a variety of avenues in latin jazz with references to historical and contemporary styles from New York, Cuba and elsewhere. Rumba in Three is a jazz guaguanco written in sequences of three bars. ending with a feverish solo by drummer Joel Mateo. Sun Touch, a Herbie Hancock composition from the 1970s, here receives a latin jazz treatment using the Puerto Rican bomba rhythm and featuring an extended solo by trumpeter David Smith. VLT features added horns by Smith and saxophonist Morgan Price, closing with a solo in 9/8 meter by percussionist Mauricio Herrera. Village Gate is a newly composed riff on 1960s jams by Mongo Santamaria, featuring both Herrera and percussionist Carlos Maldonado. On Untitled Mozambique, Alex Ayala gets a turn, with Eckroth returning to the fender rhodes for the track.

Track information: (all Compositions by Eckroth except where indicated)

Michael Eckroth- Piano
Alex Apolo Ayala- Bass
Joel Mateo -Drums
Mauricio Herrera- Congas

2. SUN TOUCH (Hancock)
Michael Eckroth- Electric Piano, Synthesizers
David Smith- Trumpet
Morgan Price- Bass Clarinet, Flute
Alex Apolo Ayala- Bass
Joel Mateo- Drums
Carlos Maldonado and Mauricio Herrera -Percussion

3. V.L.T
Michael Eckroth- Piano
David Smith- Trumpet
Morgan Price- Alto Saxophone
Alex Apolo- Ayala Bass
Joel Mateo- Drums
Mauricio Herrera- Congas

Michael Eckroth- Piano
Alex Apolo Ayala- Bass
Joel Mateo- Drums
Mauricio Herrera- Congas
Carlos Maldonado- Bongos

Michael Eckroth- Electric Piano
Alex Apolo Ayala- Bass
Joel Mateo- Drums
Mauricio Herrera- Congas

Recorded at Douglas Studios with Peter Karl.
Mixed and Mastered by Dave Darlington



to write a review