Mission Players | Blue Funk

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Curtis Mayfield Funky Meters Grant Green

More Artists From
United States - California - SF

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Funk Rock Blues: Electric Blues Moods: Featuring Saxophone
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Blue Funk

by Mission Players

Blue Funk is an EP of five originals and one cover drawing from influences like Grant Green, The Funky Meters and Curtis Mayfield. Features tenor sax, semi-hollow blues guitar, and solid rhythm section. Created in California.
Genre: Rock: Funk Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Can't Get Over You
4:26 $0.99
2. Nightcrawler Blues
5:17 $0.99
3. Seeing Through
3:31 $0.99
4. Funk in Blue
6:47 $0.99
5. Slower Days Ahead
5:31 $0.99
6. One More Mile
3:51 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
The Mission Players played and toured in the San Francisco Bay, and around the western region for over a decade. They released several albums, including live cuts from their travels.

Blue Funk is an EP of five originals and one cover that draw from influences like Grant Green, The Funky Meters, and Curtis Mayfield. The cover is James Cotton's "One More Mile To Go". The songs feature tenor sax, semi-hollow blues guitar, and a hard-hitting rhythm section with bluesy, soulful lyrics and harmonies.

Recorded at the rustic Prairie Sun Recording Studios in Cotati, CA, the band preserved the energy of their live performances by tracking live and overdubbing vocals, solos and percussion.

1. Can't Get Over You
2. Nightcrawler Blues
3. Seeing Through
4. Funk in Blue – arranged by Jesse Van Hiller (Joolesmusic)
5. Slower Days Ahead – written by Greg Garvey
6. One More Mile – James Cotton (Peermusic Ltd.)

• except where noted above all lyrics written by Mike Mulqueen, and all music arranged by Mike Mulqueen (SFG Music), Jason Movrich (Funk Love Music), Erik Mekkelson, Greg Garvey (Boznik Music and Media), and Jesse Van Hiller (Joolesmusic).

Guitar and vocals - Mike Mulqueen
Rhythm guitar and backup vocals - Jason Movrich
Tenor Sax - Erik Mekkelson
Bass - Greg Garvey
Drums and percussion - Jesse Van Hiller

Recorded at Prairie Sun Recording Studios, Cotati, CA -- prairiesun.com
Recording Engineer Damien Page Lewis -- damienpagelewis.com
Mixed and Mastered at The Cave ProTools Recording Studio, Mountain View, CA -- thecaverecordingstudio.us
Produced by Mission Players -- reverbnation.com/missionplayers
Album artwork Cristiano Suarez -- behance.net/cristianosuarez

Written, recorded and produced in California, USA



to write a review