MoShang | Chill Dynasty

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Groove Armada Thievery Corporation Tosca

Album Links
Chill Dynasty - Official Album Site MoShang - Artist Page & Blog MusicIsHere PayPlay Apple iTunes Bitmunk Nexhit Tradebit

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Electronic: Down Tempo Electronic: Lounge Moods: Mood: Dreamy
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Chill Dynasty

by MoShang

On MoShang's second full-length album, Oriental melodies performed on traditional Chinese instruments float effortlessly over deeply laid-back grooves and offer glimpses of the past, the present and the future – get comfortable…
Genre: Electronic: Down Tempo
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Contain
1:39 $0.99
2. My Last Duchess (feat. samples from David Byrne's My Fair Lady)
3:46 $0.99
3. Nun Other
4:06 $0.99
4. Smoke
3:10 $0.99
5. Gentle Beauty
4:48 $0.99
6. Comfort Zone
5:06 $0.99
7. Easy (feat. Sonja V.)
MoShang and Sonja V.
3:52 $0.99
8. And She Swung
4:10 $0.99
9. Next In Line (feat. Sonja V.)
MoShang and Sonja V.
3:56 $0.99
10. Or Else
3:56 $0.99
11. Swank
3:19 $0.99
12. Darker
3:25 $0.99
13. Tall Tale
4:02 $0.99
14. Soli
5:13 $0.99
15. The Optimist
4:38 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
The essence of chillout music is tasteful composition, multi-dimensional production, and the limitless sonic palette available to modern producers. Attempted by many, marrying state-of-the-art electronic waveforms with ancient Asian timbres is a delicate process successful only by inspiration, not by experimentation. MoShang achieves this, presenting some of the finest recordings to date uniting these disparate eras of musical sound as if concurrent.

MoShang loads his latest sonic jewel case, "Chill Dynasty", with only gems, finding that deep soft spot only the best chillout reaches. From the jazzy uptown images of "Or Else", to the scenery of a bright mountain sunrise in "Tall Tale", to "Soli" and its sophistication of 70's fusion with stylistic update, MoShang colors vision with sound, making each track a fine aural canvas. “Easy” exudes the time-enduring qualities of an adult-contemporary hit and is already well-received with radio audiences prior to its release, featuring the intoxicatingly lush vocals of Sonja V. melting a soul like butter from her very first vowel.

"Chill Dynasty" proves MoShang’s consistent quality and mastery as an artist, composer, and producer. Meet the Eastern world’s Sven Van Hees – MoShang proves Chill Dynasty a classic beyond its time.

- Tim Quigley, - Groovera Chilled Web Radio


MoShang is a sound jeweler living in Taiwan. He collects rough audio-diamonds from the streets of Taiwan (be they overheard conversations, street-ads blared from the ubiquitous blue-trucks, street processions or funeral chants) and fuses them with traditional Chinese instruments and laid-back beats to create a unique blend of downtempo electronica he likes to call "Chinese Chill".

Although he is slightly embarrassed to admit it, MoShang (aka Jean Marais) started his musical career as a choral singer in his native South Africa in the early 1980's. Around the same time, he received his first computer - a Commodore VIC-20. His passion for music and computers would eventually culminate in the release of his debut solo album "Made In Taiwan" in 2004.

Along the way, MoShang was the front man of Duusman (an Afrikaans language art rock band), played the saxophone for Tsunami (on the Gallo Jazz label), and produced 10 tracks on three award-winning music and poetry albums with the celebrated South African poet Breyten Breytenbach. He was half of the Afrikaans pop-duo 12Hz with Riku Latti (their debut "Nou" has been described as the most progressive Afrikaans album ever) and he received a South African AVANTI award for his music to the short film "Angels in a Cage".

Moshang's track "Nun Other" was a finalist in the 2005/2006 International Songwriting Competition.


Feedback from listeners:

· “Top marks from me for [Comfort Zone]. Loved the arrangements and use of added elements.” Posted by Langie on (Voted “Simply Amazing!”)
· “Checkin yer track Comfort Zone, what a mellow choon! Absolutely lovely in all wayz.” Posted by Morr130 on SoundClick message board
· “I really enjoyed hearing confort zone & and she swung, very cool sounding music!” Posted by Gary Fuston on SoundClick message board
· “'Comfort Zone' on your main page is AWESOME! So far it's the best quality recording I've heard on any of the Main SoundClick pages.” Posted by TheWalrusWasPaul on SoundClick message board
· “Comfort Zone is really beautiful and sounds just like its name =) very well mixed and allover catchy but interesting.” Posted by While on SoundClick message board
· “usually not my cup of tea, but I really really loved that keyboard solo on SOLI...awesome. - Marvelous sense of compositional development, transition and resolution....but of course you knew that...!!!” Posted by Xavier Lynch on SoundClick message board
· “Hi, I’m diggin on ‘Comfort Zone’ What a Song. Nice vibes all the way through. It's Laid Back and so soothing.” Posted by Tom King on SoundClick message board
· “Absolutely loving comfort zone!! Your music is top notch!” Posted by Mike Young on SoundClick message board
· “i have to say your music is absolutely amazing...and the mixes are dead on...” Posted by omnyc on SoundClick message board
· “Your works are some of the best I have heard here on soundclick. They are very uplifting and are just very well done.” Posted by sans edge on SoundClick message board
· “Excellent stuff. I like the mix of traditional instruments with a jazzy atmosphere.” Posted by carlatchou edge on SoundClick message board
· “MoShang, Incredible music! Wow!!” Posted by Earl Flemm on SoundClick message board
· “Man, this Music is Nice. Your style is unique, for I've neva heard good music like this on soundclick before.” Posted by rj14 on SoundClick message board
· “I love Soli! Interesting mix of textures/tones..” Posted by violincyndee on SoundClick message board
· “Wow, amazing! Your style is exactly what ive been looking for. Great tunes man, keep it up!” Posted by den b on SoundClick message board
· “Amazing stuff: Professionally done and marvellously conveying the Chinese atmosphere.” Posted by mxavier mxavier on SoundClick message board
OH MY GOODNESS.!! OH MY GOODNESS!!” Posted by TRUE SKILLZ on SoundClick message board
· “Im listening to talltale. I really like the mood shifts and variety of musical influences. Youre a true visionary. Keep up the great works.” Posted by KARLSBAD Noonan on SoundClick message board
· “Simply amazing tracks and production, your music is unique and a total pleasure to listen to.” Posted by dreamlab2004 on SoundClick message board
· “Man.....Comfort Zone is premium stuff. The most pro ambient I have heard to date here on soundclick.” Posted by demeaning on SoundClick message board



to write a review


Peace on plastic.
Grab a glass of red wine, a comfortable chair, pop this cd in, and relax. The ears alone can't translate this music properly. Prepare your mind, body, and soul for a peaceful journey into the orient with influences of jazz, ambient, and mild electronic beats. Not trancy; just peaceful with hints of varying degrees of emotion from melancholy to blissful. Peace on plastic.

An adventure throughout Asia. The music gives you the feelings of the experiences and beauty that you would feel if you embarked on a trip to Asia. I thoroughly enjoyed the CD. There is even a track where the Buddhist mantra is chanted in Nun Other which is Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo.