Murali Coryell | Restless Mind

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Eric Clapton Jimi Hendrix Robert Cray

More Artists From
United States - New York

Other Genres You Will Love
Blues: Guitar Blues Rock: Classic Rock Moods: Solo Male Artist
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Restless Mind

by Murali Coryell

Contemporary Blues Artist and New York Blues Hall of Fame inductee recorded latest offering in Austin, TX featuring 11 original songs and cover of Marvin Gaye's "Let's Get It On".
Genre: Blues: Guitar Blues
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Waiting and Wasting Away
3:39 $0.99
2. Kiss Me First
3:15 $0.99
3. Restless Mind
4:42 $0.99
4. I'm so Happy
3:57 $0.99
5. Sex Maniac
3:03 $0.99
6. Crime of Opportunity
5:33 $0.99
7. I Can't Give You Up
4:46 $0.99
8. Tag Along
4:01 $0.99
9. I Need Someone to Love
3:14 $0.99
10. Lonely Eyes
2:16 $0.99
11. Every Day Is a Struggle
4:02 $0.99
12. Let's Get It On
6:52 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Restless Mind-Reflecting on the first Murali Coryell studio recording since 2009’s “Sugar Lips” that featured three artists who have had a profound influence on me and a lot has happened since. I went on to spend three years touring as a featured artist with Joe Louis Walker who always encouraged me to play every time likes it’s my last. Working with and being around my father Larry Coryell is always a lesson in music and in life. Producer Tom Hambridge changed the way I approach songwriting. Not settling for a lyric simply because it rhymes but finding just the right words to express the song and to create landscapes. I had a chance to play the CD for my father who can be quite critical but had nothing but good things to say. I hope that when Joe and Tom hear the music they will be equally proud of me and their inspiration. I know my mother who passed away 5 years ago this past Mother’s Day, would be proud and is dancing somewhere in heaven. The basic tracks to Restless Mind were recorded in 3 days with the band then two days of overdubbing guitar and vocals by myself. Thanks to an invitation from recording engineer Stephen Goodman to record at Mesa Recording Studios in Austin, TX, We hooked up with studio owner and engineer Rob Hinton to complete the project. Of the 12 tracks on Restless Mind, half of the songs I had already written and just needed to arrange and organize them a bit. The other half were written a week before the recording sessions. Using my Macbook Pro from my home in upstate New York and playing all the instruments myself, I was able to send decent demos of everything for the band. We had one rehearsal prior to going into the studio. Drummer Ernie Durawa was indispensable in the making of this album. Ernie and I met in 2005 while teaching at the National Guitar Workshop in Austin, TX. Every year since then Ernie has invited me to come play gigs with him and turned me on to the Austin scene. Being a legendary Texas drummer Ernie is loved and known by all in and around Austin and other parts of Texas. Having played with Delbert McClinton, Doug Sahm, and the Texas Tornadoes, Ernie has become a master of many Blues, Jazz, Rock & Roll, R&B, Latin and other grooves that are demonstrated throughout the CD. Bassist Chris Alcaraz who plays in Ernies’ regular Tuesday night house band in Austin at music club Strange Brew Café locks in perfectly with Ernie throughout.
About each song:
1 WAITING AND WASTING AWAY-I began writing this song while on tour with Joe Louis Walker in France. There was a strike which cancelled several of our shows. This song expresses some of frustrations at things beyond our control that many of us have felt.
2 KISS ME FIRST-This was one of the newly written songs. What makes this a little extra funky is a little “Memphis” style rhythmic figure alternating in the verses. The lyrics encourage a less talk, make it happen approach when it comes to romance.
3 RESTLESS MIND- I wrote this while on tour with Joe Louis Walker in southern Spain. We had a few days off and I was consumed with worry about things beyond my control. What makes the vibe of this song is what Doug Sahm used to refer as Ernie’s “dank kiti yanka” beat.
4 I’M SO HAPPY-This song came together quickly written in about 15 minutes. Apparently I was in a good mood when I wrote this about a year ago. The simple melody really lends itself to vocal harmonies which I’m a big fan of. People have commented upon hearing this that it is ironic for a “Blues Man” to have a song that is so happy.
5 SEX MANIAC-I wrote this a couple of years ago and had positive feedback playing it out live. You can picture the scene as many of us have witnessed that person that “stands out” in the club and had our curiosity tempted.
6 CRIME OF OPPORTUNITY-This song deals with the issue of cheating. The conflicting feelings and circumstances in a fantasy scenario are expressed in the lyrics and the minor tonality of the song.
7 I CAN’T GIVE YOU UP-First released on the Murali Coryell “Live” CD, this song is an ode to some of my favorite southern soul artists. I wanted horns on this as it really lends itself to the style.
8 TAG ALONG-An old school New Orleans style stroll, the horns improvised great parts and played amazing solos. The songs inspiration came from my son eating the last Tag Along girl scout cookie.
9 I NEED SOMEONE TO LOVE-Straight up Texas/Chicago style blues shuffle.
10 LONELY EYES-This new song sounds to me as if it was written or recorded in the late 1950’s or early 1960’s and has a classic sound I have often strived to get. I wrote the first line after looking into my dogs eyes. It’s funny where inspiration can come from sometimes.
11 EVERYDAY IS A STRUGGLE-A new song in a funky blues style talking about the triumph of overcoming everyday struggles.
12 LET’S GET IT ON-I have developed a reputation for singing this song for over 20 years at various live performances. Covering an artist as beloved as Marvin Gaye is a tremendous honor and duty to do the material justice. I feel we got a great vibe on this as well simulating what it’s like in a club performance.



to write a review