Negative Press Project | Live @ Avonova

Go To Artist Page

More Artists From
United States - California - SF

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Post-Bop Rock: Experimental Rock Moods: Type: Instrumental
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Live @ Avonova

by Negative Press Project

A seven-piece electro-acoustic jazz/indie-rock–inspired original music collective.
Genre: Jazz: Post-Bop
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Shoten Zenjin (Live)
8:26 album only
2. Earthquakes and Landings (Live)
8:33 album only
3. Residue of the Day (Live)
8:02 album only
4. Fleeced (Live)
9:34 album only
5. Libre (Live)
8:29 album only
6. Little Roo (Live)
11:22 album only
7. Montaña De La Araña (Live)
9:51 album only
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Negative Press Project

“I was pleased to host the Negative Press Project recently and they delivered an enjoyable show. It was high in adventure and exuberance, with a variety of original charts and a sweet front-line horn section. They made odd meters sound not-so-odd and their writing was never predictable. They give hope for the future of creative music.”~ Jimmy Pedersen

"A band with top-notch personnel offering an eclectic and cinematic mix of innovative, thought-provoking original material. Keep your ear out for them!"
~ Susan Muscarella – Founder and Executive Director, Jazzschool, Inc.

Co-directed by Andrew Lion and Ruthie Dineen, Negative Press Project, is a seven-piece electro-acoustic jazz/indie-rock–inspired original music collective. The project has been unveiling arrangements in performance that defy strict convention since 2012.

The group combines extensive jazz conservatory training (Jazzschool Institute, Berkeley, CA, Berklee College of Music, Boston, MA, San Jose State University, University of California Berkeley – UC Jazz) with individual performance experience in Experimental/Free Improvisation, Hard Bop, Afro-Cuban, R&B, Pop, Rock and Brazilian music forms.

Based in Oakland, Negative Press Project (NPP) evolved over three years as the musical vision of bassist and co-leader, Andrew Lion (formerly of the electro pop group, OONA). NPP began as a one-off studio experiment engineered by Jon Evans (Tori Amos), and supported by the inimitable guitarist Matthew Charles Heulitt (Narada Michael Walden, Zigaboo Modeliste, etc.), with Trumpeter and Trombonist, Joel Behrman (Sheila E., The E Family featuring Pete Escovedo), Pianist, Adam Shulman (Marcus Shelby Orchestra), and Drummer, Rick Munoz (Pine & Battery). Andrew built on the foundation of that recording session, to bring in NPP’s present day co-conspirators.

Andrew’s skills as a composer and acoustic bass player continues to develop considerably with the encouragement of peers and mentors that he has shared the stage with, as well as through conservatory training at UC Jazz and the Jazzschool Institute in Berkeley, California, attaining a B.A. degree in Jazz Studies/Performance.

Co-directed with Ruthie Dineen, a jazz and classically trained pianist, the group benefits from her wholistic approach to writing, arranging and performing. Ruthie brings her educational experiences, which have yielded a B.A. degree in History, Master Social Worker credentials and B.A. degree in Jazz Studies/Performance, to bridge a studied touch with pure visceral energy. Her approach is informed equally by the dissection of pieces from Scriabin to Cedar Walton, with an early introduction from her older brother to the Velvet Underground.

Each project member is of equal, if not greater stature, in their contribution to high spirited and mischievous performance.

• Madison Bohrer - Tenor & Soprano Saxophone
• Ruthie Dineen - Piano & Keyboard
• Andrew Lion - Acoustic Bass
• Chris Sullivan - Alto Saxophone
• Dillon Vado - Drums

Additional Collaborators:
• Joel Berhman – Trumpet and Trombone
• Matthew Charles Heulitt - Electric Guitar
• Henry Moser - Electric Guitar
• Rafa Postel - Trumpet and Flugelhorn



to write a review