Order 3 or more CDs and get 1¢ domestic shipping through 03/31/2020.
N-groove | It's Who We Are

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Fourplay George Duke Incognito

Album Links
MusicIsHere PayPlay Apple iTunes MySpace page Official website Tradebit

More Artists From
United States - Washington DC

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Smooth Jazz Urban/R&B: R&B Pop Crossover Moods: Mood: Dreamy
There are no items in your wishlist.

It's Who We Are

by N-groove

Smooth, sexy, diverse vocal and instrumental compositions. One of the best releases this year from the rising stars of smooth jazz.
Genre: Jazz: Smooth Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 20% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. You And Me
5:22 $0.99
2. Funny How Time Flies
3:54 $0.99
3. Groove Serum
3:52 $0.99
4. Bring It On Let's Go
3:04 $0.99
5. It's Who We Are
4:59 $0.99
6. So Sexxy
5:26 $0.99
7. When We Get There
4:53 $0.99
8. Ooo Wee Oh Yeah
4:21 $0.99
9. Dfunkt
6:04 $0.99
10. It's Who We Are (Reprise)
4:36 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
N-Groove is a group of incredibly talented musicians and songwriters who have joined forces to create a Radio friendly groove oriented jazz music. Together their musical influences combine to create a genuinely unique sound that overwhelmingly connects with listeners. The new CD release titled Its Who We Are features a cast of talented musicians that blend jazz, R&B and Pop influences. The CD consists of 10 tracks of N-Groove music including the first single Funny How Time Flies. Visit www.n-groove.com for tour dates and additional information. We hope you enjoy one of the best releases of the year!



to write a review


Smooth-jazz.de Review
N-Groove is a new founded group of guitarist Roberto Tyson, drummer C.C. Givens and bassist Cheikh Ndoye. Their debut album It's Who We Are (2007) was recorded to create radio friendly groove oriented jazz music. Their mission is to make music which is interesting, stimulating and diverse.

Heart and soul of the group is drummer C.C. Gives who defines himself as "Renaissance Man" and plays several instruments on this album. All songs on this album are originals, mostly composed by the group members with the exception of the second tune Funny How Time Flies. Additional guest musicians are Benito Gonzales (piano), Monica Ssali (vocals), Al Williams (sax), Carl McIntyre (flugelhorn), Matvei Sigalov (electric violin), Brad Booth (electric piano), Scott Hedges (guitar), Shaun Jurek (guitar), Romero Wyatt (percussion) and Eli Staples (piano).

You And Me, the starting ballade showcases what this album stands all about. The wonderful voice of Monica Ssali supported by professional instrumentalists. Outstanding instrument is Cheik Ndoye's fretless bass who gives the group its signature sound.

A second time we met Monica on the cover of the popular hit Funny How Time Flies composed by James Harris III and Terry Lewis Jackson. The song was tailored for Janet Jackson breakthrough album Control (1986) and is still an R&B classic. Carl McIntyre's contribution on Flugelhorn with a nice dose of reverb gains the appeal of celestial music.

Groove Serum brings more the nucleus of N-Groove into foreground: Instrumental mastership. Brilliant on keys Benito Gonzales with a jazzy attitude. Bring It On Let's Go is a testimony for jazz and Funk. Cheikh Ndoye's bass and C.C. Givens' wah guitar are the bringer of message.

It's Who We Are is one of the highlights of this album. A catchy melody, an infectious rhythm, fascinating arrangement and a group mesmerizing with a high level of professionalism. The song reminds me of the group Brand New Heavies. A great surprise is Matvei Sigalov on electric violin. This is the musical way Matvei should go in the future.

So Sexxy is a smooth ballade featuring doyen Al Williams on soprano sax. Al is known by his work with Stanley Clarke, Jeff Beck, John Lee, Jerry Brown and Rodney Franklin. I love his performance on Exodus Quartet's Summer Soulstice.

On When We Get There pianist Eli Staples shows his prowess. Eli garnered some accolades as jazz pianist in the Washington area. Smooth jazz fans will know about his performance with Maysa Leak. The intro and some phrases of the following Ooh We Oh Yeah confirmed my impression of an excellent talent.

What can be a better proof for the brilliance of N-Groove than the fusion-break Dfunkt. Only an independent group can make such a performance outside the path of radio-like music.

The instrumental version of It's Who We Are clarifies: We witness the birth of a great group. This album has substance and a solid potential for a splendid development.

Scott O'Brien

SmoothJazz.com Review
Let me introduce you to a powerful new element in Smooth Jazz… an intriguing and artful blend of jazz, R&B, neo-soul and pop that’s compelling and fresh. N-Groove is a group of outstanding musicians who combine their talents to create a delicious potpourri of audio delectables that are sure to pique your musical palate. Superb musicianship and organic sensibility combine for some memorable listening here. The first radio track, for example, is a sparkling take on Janet Jackson’s “Funny How Time Flies.” From the staccato flugelhorn and soprano sax to the captivating vocal refrain and compelling percussion riffs, this one’s got “Smooth Jazz Hit“ written all over it. The rest of the tracks are inventive originals, written all or in part by N-Groove’s producer and driving force, C.C. Givens. They vary, from the slow and sultry “Sexxy” to the fusion-funk “Dfunkt,” the hip-hop-flavored “Bring It On Let’s Go,” and the ultra cool vocal “You and Me” featuring Monica Ssali. What all these great performances have in common is a variety of textures that only a band with piano, keyboards, guitars, sax, horns (trumpet and flugelhorn), vocalist, and even electric violin can bring to the table. I really like the vibe of this disc. It’s accessible, yet it’s still musically challenging, which makes listening a truly exciting, invigorating experience. N’Groove’s IT’S WHO WE ARE is a collection of strong performances that should cement this group’s place on the top level of Smooth Jazz celebrity. After all, that’s truly who they are! ~SCOTT O'BRIEN

Brian R West

N-Groove It's Who We Are
I really liked the track 'Funny How Time Flies' and bought it for that reason, but given the chance to listen to it at my leisure, I've gained huge enjoyment from the whole album, a surprise on each song, a real success.