Nils Fischer & Timbazo | Rumberos a Montón

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Eddie Palmieri Irakere Los Van Van

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Latin: Cuban Latin: Salsa Moods: Mood: Party Music
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Rumberos a Montón

by Nils Fischer & Timbazo

A joyful all-star celebration feat. famous Cuban musicians like Lucrecia, Changuito, A. Abreu, Calixto Oviedo!
Genre: Latin: Cuban
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Rumberos a Montón (feat. Fabian Nodarse, Changuito & Alexander Abreu)
4:26 $0.99
2. Timbazo Llegó (feat. Nando Vanin & Calixto Oviedo)
4:54 $0.99
3. Maferefún Yemayá (feat. Alberto Caicedo, Carlos del Puerto, Calixto Oviedo, José Pepe Espinosa & Julito Padrón)
6:10 $0.99
4. Flores Para Tu Altar (feat. Lucrecia & Alexander Abreu)
5:20 $0.99
5. Emboba (feat. Fabian Nodarse, Alberto Caicedo, Nando Vanin, Amaury Perez & Changuito)
2:19 $0.99
6. Palo Pa' Changuito (feat. Changuito, Lucrecia & Alexander Abreu)
2:24 album only
7. Sabor a Bombón (feat. Nando Vanin, Bart Platteau & Julito Padrón)
4:59 $0.99
8. What's Going On (feat. Alberto Caicedo, Amik Guerra & Calixto Oviedo)
5:43 $0.99
9. Voy a Barrer Contigo (feat. Fabian Nodarse & Ben Van Den Dungen)
4:59 $0.99
10. La Media Vuelta (feat. Alberto Caicedo & Julito Padrón)
4:48 $0.99
11. Algo Así (feat. Calixto Oviedo, Jan Hartong & Ed Verhoeff)
4:25 $0.99
12. What's Going On (English Version) [feat. Shirma Rouse]
3:40 $0.99
13. Timbazo Llegó (Radio Edit)
3:55 $0.99
14. Maferefún Yemayá (Radio Edit)
3:41 $0.99
15. Voy a Barrer Contigo (Radio Edit)
3:38 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Rumberos a Montón is the successor of Timbazo’s acclaimed debut album ¡Gracias Joe Cuba!
The new CD - recorded by an incredible all-star cast - is for the dancers, and it will make listeners dance too!

Special guests: Lucrecia, José Luís Quintana 'Changuito', Carlos del Puerto, Calixto Oviedo, Alexander Abreu, Amik Guerra, Julio Padrón, Shirma Rouse, Carlos Matos, José ‘Pepe’ Espinosa, Bart Platteau, Ed Verhoeff, Jan Hartong, Tony Moreaux, Christof Knoche, Mara Tieles, Pablo Rodriguez, Ernesto Paz, Ben v/d Dungen, Albert Kerekeš, Pedro Luís Pardo & Amaury Perez.

Hasta los muertos van a revivir para bailar con este CD!
- Edwin Bonilla

Nils Fischer es un musicazo espectacular. El conoce como nadie nuestra musica Cubana y Latina.
Este disco es la bomba, es pa’ gozar y tiene unas colaboraciones espectaculares. Espero que lo disfruten - ¡Agua!
- Lucrecia Pérez Sáez

Nils - it's killing, congratulations!
- Luis Conte

¡Maestro Nils! Esto es una delicia, que gusto, que combinacion, todos y todo excelente!
- Lázara Cachao López

AWESOME recording, can't wait for more!!!
- Eddie Montalvo

Liner notes
Timbazo has done it again with this exuberant, all-star celebration. Rumberos a Montón is a joyful testament to the power of Cuban rumba, expertly arranged and fiercely performed with plenty of corazón. This album might be Nils Fischer's best to date, combining the high-intensity of timba and "salsa dura" with Timbazo-style originals and the lyricism of some of Cuba's classic compositions. And talk about a killer a line-up!
- Rebeca Mauleón (pianist, composer, educator and author (a.o. The Salsa Guidebook) San Francisco, USA

Hope you enjoy the result of another adventure with Timbazo!
After all, it ended up in a big rumba with all these fantastic rumberos, and that’s just what it is - RUMBEROS A MONTÓN
I feel extremely happy and honored by the participation of so many incredible musicians.
Many Thanks to all those who made this album possible! A big hug, ¡Paz, Amor y Música!
- Nils Fischer

A total of 34 musicians contributed to the international recording sessions in Rotterdam, Antwerp, Barcelona, Atlanta, Havana, Turku, Phoenix, Detroit and New York. The arrangers include Alain Pérez, Marc Bischoff, Jan Hartong & Iván ‘Melon’ Lewis. Mastered by legendary engineer Bob Katz in Orlando, USA.

Nils Fischer
Percussionist Nils Fischer plays since the 90’s with an array of projects around the world, recorded more than 60 CDs and teaches at Codarts University of the Arts in Rotterdam. Although he loves to be sideman and to teach, some years ago Nils felt that time had come for a project of his own. Now he could pursue his musical visions all the way. Nils: "I followed my inner voice and chose music, arrangers and musicians who are a perfect combination in my opinion.”

Nils’ idea was to combine Latin/Cuban music and jazz in a new and exciting way. The succes of the debut album resulted in performances at important venues like North Sea Jazz Festival, Festival Mundial, Royal Tropical Institute, Norway Salsa Congress, Summer Carnival a.o. The 12-member working band consists of vocalists, percussionists, pianist, bassist and horns with roots in Colombia, Cuba, The Netherlands, USA, Germany, Puerto Rico, Venezuela and Curaçao. Nils: " I see the group as a collective, where everyone has a strong input. This brings the music to life. There has to be someone who coordinates everything and gives a direction, and that's me. . . " Besides the extra boost by the guest musicians, this recording session shows which development the band has made ​​- through the performances, Timbazo has found it’s own sound. The repertoire consists of originals and Cuban musical treasures.

Nils Fischer Congas, bongó, campana, güiro, clave, catá, batá, percussion
Calixto Oviedo Drums, timbales
José Luís Quintana 'Changuito' Timbales (6,7, solos in 1)
Armando Vidal Sanchez Timbales (7)
Jose ‘Pepe’ Espinosa Bongó, quinto, cajón, quijada, campana (3)
Gerardo Rosales Maracas
Tony Moreaux Bongó (7)

Marc Bischoff Grand piano
Jan Laurens Hartong Grand piano (11)

Carlos del Puerto Baby bass (1,4,10), electric bass (2,3,8,9,11,12)
Adinda Meertins Baby bass (7)
Ernesto Paz Baby bass (5,6)
Ed Verhoeff Electric guitar (11)

Lucrecia Pérez Sáez Vocals (4,6)
Shirma Rouse Vocals (12), backing vocals (8,12)

Alberto Caicedo Vocals, backing vocals
Nando Vanin Vocals, backing vocals
Fabian Nodarse ‘Huracán’ Vocals, backing vocals

Joe Rivera 1. Trumpet, Fluegelhorn
Alex Rodriguez 2. Trumpet, Fluegelhorn
Alexander Abreu Manresa Trumpets (1,2,4,10), soloist (1,4,6)
Julito Padrón Trumpet, soloist (3,7,10, fill in 2)
Amik Guerra Trumpet, soloist (8)
David Rothschild 1. Trombone
Frans Cornelissen 2. Trombone, 3. Trombone (2,7)
Amaury Perez Rodriguez Trombones (10), soloist (5)

Bart Platteau Flute (3,5,6,7,8,9,11,12), soloist (7)
Ben van den Dungen Tenor sax (4), soprano sax solo (9)
Pablo Rodriguez Violin (5,6)
Mara Tieles Viola (5,6)
Pedro Luís Pardo Tres (10)
Carlos Matos Keyboard (2,3)
Albert Kerekeš Baritone sax (1)
Christof Knoche Alto sax (11)



to write a review