Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ shipping
No Explanations | December Moment

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
No Explanations Band Vince Guaraldi

More Artists From
United States - Washington DC

Other Genres You Will Love
Holiday: Jazz Jazz: Traditional Jazz Combo Moods: Mood: Christmas
There are no items in your wishlist.

December Moment

by No Explanations

Jazz up your Holiday Season with December Moment! Featuring 16 of your favorite Christmas Carols arranged for acoustic piano, bass and drums!
Genre: Holiday: Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. O Come O Come Emmanuel
1:58 $0.99
2. Hark! the Herald Angels Sing
2:14 $0.99
3. The First Noel
3:52 $0.99
4. Angels We Have Heard on High
2:00 $0.99
5. Silent Night
2:23 $0.99
6. We Three Kings
1:40 $0.99
7. It Came Upon the Midnight Clear
1:39 $0.99
8. Jolly Old St. Nicholas
1:54 $0.99
9. O Christmas Tree
2:44 $0.99
10. Jingle Bells
1:46 $0.99
11. O Come All Ye Faithful
1:25 $0.99
12. O Holy Night
3:33 $0.99
13. O Little Town of Bethlehem
2:42 $0.99
14. Away in a Manger
2:10 $0.99
15. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
1:56 $0.99
16. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
1:27 $0.99
17. December Moment
4:03 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
In 2008, Mark put together a classic jazz trio of piano, bass and drums which began to work regularly throughout the Washington D.C., Virginia, and Maryland area. It was that trio which recorded Mark’s 2010 release Worth the Wait. During a brief period when Dan and Mark were contemplating drummers and bass players for No Explanations, Mark took this trio for a spin and produced a now classic jazz Christmas album, which received a glowing review in Downbeat Magazine the year it was released (2014). The bass player, Shaun Jurek, was the same on both trio albums with Russell Lucas replacing Nate Panning on drums for December Moment. No Explanations dissolved before a band sound involving bass and drums could be solidified. December Moment is credited to the NE discography. The title track, mentioned in the review, gives a hint as to where the band might have gone in direction and sound.

Downbeat Magazine's December 2014 Review of December Moment
by Bobby Reed

Because most adults have heard them hundreds of times, it's easy for straightforward renditions of Christmas classics to overstay their welcome. Fortunately, on December Moment, the trio No Explanations puts a premium on brevity. The album includes pithy arrangements of 16 familiar chestnuts, half of which are less than two minutes long. Pianist Mark Christopher Brandt, bassist Shaun Jurek and drummer Russell Lucas have crafted a peaceful album that combines religious and secular tunes.

Brandt wrote all the arrangements, adding surprising twists and fluid improv segments to "O Little Town Of Bethlehem" and putting Jurek's bass in the spotlight for a concise, 85-second rendition of "We Wish You A Merry Christmas." The title track, which is the only original tune here, was spontaneously composed in the studio and illustrates the musicians' simpatico approach. This is a fine album for nighttime listening, when you're in the mood to relax and reflect, long after the kids have gone to slumberland.



to write a review