Omit | Medusa Truth, Pt. 1

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Myriads The 3rd and the Mortal Theater of Tragedy

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Metal/Punk: Doom/Stoner Metal Metal/Punk: Neo-Classical Metal Moods: Type: Vocal
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Medusa Truth, Pt. 1

by Omit

The follow-up to Omit's critically acclaimed, double album Repose.
Genre: Metal/Punk: Doom/Stoner Metal
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Distrust
16:25 album only
2. Denial
6:38 album only
3. Deplore
26:05 album only
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Omit is a melodic doom metal band based in Oslo, Norway. It is comprised of vocalist Cecilie Langlie (Skumring, Havnatt, Vagrant God), Tom Simonsen (Skumring, Havnatt, Vagrant God) on guitars and bass and Kjetil Ottersen (Diagnostic, Vestige of Virtue, In_zekT, Vagrant God) on guitars and keyboards.

Omit started as a collaboration project between the three members back in early 2009, when Kjetil suggested to Cecilie and Tom that they should all write and record some melodic doom metal music together. Prior to this, the three had worked very well together to record and produce the self-titled Vagrant God album. The melodic doom metal collaboration soon led to the completion of a longer-than-average album, and the critically acclaimed debut double album (2 CDs) entitled Repose was released on September 1st, 2011 by Secret Quarters Records.

Soon after the release of their debut album Omit started writing new material. The recording of this new material got started at the Secret Quarters Studios in the beginning of 2014 and, initially, resulted in a full length album with the title of Medusa Truth Part 1. Mixing and mastering of this album took place during the summer of the same year, and got completed in time to make Secret Quarters Records’ autumn release window. Medusa Truth Part 1 was then announced to be released on November 26th, 2014.

As “Part 1” in the title suggests, the album is a part of a series of albums that will attempt to portray a sequence of events in the period of a person’s life. Part 1 deals with a certain series of events, in three parts (or sub-parts or chapters, if you will) corresponding to the number of tracks on the album. The following album (or albums) will seek to musically describe other events in the life of the protagonist.

The title of the album was inspired by the following passage from The Mutiny of the Elsinore by Jack London: “The profoundest instinct in man is to war against the truth; that is, against the Real. He shuns facts from his infancy. His life is a perpetual evasion. Miracle, chimera and to-morrow keep him alive. He lives on fiction and myth. It is the Lie that makes him free. Animals alone are given the privilege of lifting the veil of Isis; men dare not. The animal, awake, has no fictional escape from the Real because he has no imagination. Man, awake, is compelled to seek a perpetual escape into Hope, Belief, Fable, Art, God, Socialism, Immortality, Alcohol, Love. From Medusa-Truth he makes an appeal to Maya-Lie.”

Omit members/musicians on Medusa Truth Part 1
Cecilie Langlie: Vocals
Kjetil Ottersen: Keyboards and programming
Tom Simonsen: Guitars, keyboards, bass and programming

All tracks composed and performed by Omit.
Orchestral arrangements and drums programming by Tom Simonsen.
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Tom Simonsen at the Secret Quarters Studios.
Artwork, designs and photos for Medusa Truth Part 1 by Tom Simonsen and Cecilie Langlie.



to write a review