Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ postal shipping
Principe Valiente | Oceans

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Editors New Order Suede

Album Links
Facebook Band Website YouTube

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Shoegaze Pop: Britpop Moods: Featuring Bass
There are no items in your wishlist.


by Principe Valiente

After their outstanding self-titled debut album (2011) and the breathtaking “Choirs of Blessed Youth” (2014), the Swedish post punk / shoegaze band lead by Fernando Honoratio, true to their vision, continues to carve out its own unique musical path.
Genre: Rock: Shoegaze
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Wildest Flowers
4:57 album only
2. When I Learned to Crawl
3:44 album only
3. Strangers in the Night
4:51 album only
4. Untouchable
6:10 album only
5. Running Juveniles
5:15 album only
6. No Time
4:29 album only
7. The Reason Why
6:12 album only
8. Monsters of the Sea
7:20 album only


Album Notes
After an outstanding self-titled debut album in 2011 and the breathtaking "Choirs Of Blessed Youth" in 2014, the Swedish post punk / shoegaze band lead by Fernando Honorato, true to their vision, continues to carve out its own unique musical path. Drawing inspiration from ambient experimentalists like Cocteau Twins, 80's sci-fi soundtracks as well as exuberant vocalists like Bowie and Kate Bush, PRINCIPE VALIENTE ventured deeper into the sonic landscapes of their minds.

The intensity of the athmospheric sound and the interplay of melodic guitar strings, the dark drifting drums, rhythmic bass lines and above all the warm, emotional voice of the singer, have remained. The listener is captured in a mixture of longing and loneliness, which is fluently and hypnotically directed. Calm pieces alternate with energetic compositions, such as the recently released single "Strangers In The Night", and give the album a strong note of ambivalence.

With their third work "Oceans", the band has created another alluring world with "human, all too human" lyrics and phantasmagorical soundscapes. Cool, yet impassioned and loaded with sweet anxiety, PRINCIPE VALIENTE have managed to make an irresistibly beautiful and intense continuation of what was started in the previous two albums.

"Oceans" was partly recorded by the producer Martin Ehrencrona (Les Big Byrd), and partly in various basements and art school lobbies around their hometown Stockholm, Sweden. The combination of innovative and inspired material makes for an invigorating listen as it is difficult to pinpoint in regard to genre.

"Oceans" will be released on May 12th, 2017 on CD and as a download by afmusic, and as a limited Vinyl edition by Manic Depression Records.

Principe Valiente are:
Fernando Honorato - Vocals/Bass
Jimmy Ottosson - Guitars
Rebecka Johansson - Keyboards
Joakim Janthe - Drums

Recorded in Stockholm at The Boiler Room and the Royal Institute of Art.
Drums recorded by Martin Ehrencrona at Studio Cobra
Produced and mixed by Jimmy Ottosson & Principe Valiente
Mastered by Linus Giertta
Artwork by Jimmy Ottosson
Cover photo by Erik Undéhn



to write a review