Prism Quartet | Breath Beneath

Go To Artist Page

Album Links
Artistic Director, New Dynamic Records MySpace Page Official Website

More Artists From
United States - Indiana

Other Genres You Will Love
Avant Garde: Experimental Classical: Contemporary Moods: Mood: Intellectual
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Breath Beneath

by Prism Quartet

Cutting edge music for the saxophone featuring the PRISM Quartet
Genre: Avant Garde: Experimental
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 50% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Keen
7:17 $0.99
2. Funk Assault
8:14 $0.99
3. Coloratura: I. Introit
1:22 $0.99
4. Coloratura: II. Laud
1:33 $0.99
5. Coloratura: III. Hoquetus
1:05 $0.99
6. Coloratura: IV. Lamentation
1:37 $0.99
7. Coloratura: V. Fuging Tune
2:49 $0.99
8. Coloratura: VI. Hymn
5:12 $0.99
9. Nomadology
9:11 $0.99
10. Breath Beneath
9:24 $0.99
11. Maxine
10:23 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
One of the most versatile instruments in the woodwind family, the saxophone has sparked the imagination of composers of every stripe since its invention by Adolph Sax in 1841. Some draw upon the pure, lyrical quality of the saxophone’s tone while others make use of its abstract, sometimes dissonant sound capabilities to explore new aesthetic terrain. In this release, composers are inspired by a variety of sonic sources: the human voice in Kati Agocs’s Coloratura, the underlying hum of a dense city in Kristin Kuster’s Breath Beneath, and the flavor of Middle Eastern music in Roshanne Etezady’s Keen. Ross Feller, Zack Browning, and Rand Steiger look to more abstract and personal sources in the creation of their works. Together, the music on this release offers a snapshot of the many moods and sound worlds that the saxophone, alone and in combination, can produce. New Dynamic Records is privileged to share this disc of our featured ensemble, the renowned PRISM Quartet, with listeners around the world. Through their artistry and virtuosity, the members of PRISM -- Timothy McAllister (soprano saxophone), Zachary Shemon (alto saxophone), Matthew Levy (tenor saxophone), and Taimur Sullivan (baritone saxophone) -- bring these incredibly challenging works to life. We hope you will visit to see and hear the quartet talk about their experience with this exciting project.

Erich Stem
Resident Composer
Indiana University Southeast



to write a review