Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ shipping
Ran Blake | Ghost Tones

Go To Artist Page

Album Links
A-Side Records Ran Blake

More Artists From
United States - Massachusetts

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Contemporary Jazz Jazz: Free Jazz Moods: Type: Instrumental
There are no items in your wishlist.

Ghost Tones

by Ran Blake

It is my sincere hope that this dedication album conveys my love and admiration for what George Russell accomplished in life and music.
Genre: Jazz: Contemporary Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Autumn in New York
2:01 $0.99
2. Alice Norbury
4:15 $0.99
3. Living Time
6:14 $0.99
4. Paris
3:35 $0.99
5. Telegram from Gunther
0:42 $0.99
6. Biography
5:29 $0.99
7. Stratusphunk
3:07 $0.99
8. Jack's Blues
3:51 $0.99
9. Manhattan
4:02 $0.99
10. Ballad of Hix Blewitt (feat. Aaron Hartley, Peter Kenagy, Rachel Massey & David "Knife" Fabris)
6:26 $0.99
11. Cincinnati Express
2:57 $0.99
12. Vertical Form VI
4:51 $0.99
13. Jacques Crawls
1:38 $0.99
14. Lonely Place
6:14 $0.99
15. Ezz-Thetic
4:50 $0.99
16. You Are My Sunshine
4:24 $0.99
17. Autumn in New York (Alt. Take)
2:27 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Ran Blake, Ghost Tones

1. Autumn in New York (Vernon Duke) 2:01 Boosey & Hawkes Inc obo Kay Duke Music
2. Alice Norbury (Ran Blake) 4:15 BMI
3. Living Time (George Russell) 4:01 Russ-Hix Music, BMI
4. Telegram From Gunther (Gunther Schuller/Ran Blake) BMI
5. Paris (Ran Blake) 3:35 BMI
6. Biography (Ran Blake/Luke Moldof) 5:29 BMI
7. Stratusphunk (George Russell) 3:07 Russ-Hix Music, BMI
8. Jack’s Blues (George Russell/ Luke Moldof) 3:51 Russ-Hix Music, BMI
9. Manhattan (Richard Rodgers/Lorenz Hart) 4:02 Williamson Music Co.- A Div of Rodgers and Hammerstein. Piedmont Music Co.
10. Ballad of Hix Blewitt (George Russell/ Luke Moldof) 6:26 Russ-Hix Music, BMI
11. Cincinnati Express (Ran Blake) 2:57 BMI
12. Vertical Form VI (George Russell) 4:51 Russ-Hix Music, BMI
13. Jacques Crawls (Ran Blake) 1:38 BMI
14. Lonely Place (George Russell) 6:14 Russ-Hix Music, BMI
15. Ezz-Thetic (George Russell) 4:50 Russ-Hix Music, BMI
16. You Are My Sunshine (Jimmie Davis/Charles Mitchell) 4:24 Peer International Corp.
17. Autumn in New York (alternate take) (Vernon Duke) 2:27 Boosey & Hawkes Inc obo Kay Duke Music

Ran Blake, piano (1, 4-11, 13, 15-16) Casio Priva PX-310 electric piano (2, 3, 11, 13); Peter Kenagy, trumpet (3, 7, 9, 13); Aaron Hartley, trombone (3, 7, 9, 11, 13) computer (11); Doug Pet, tenor saxophone (3, 13); Eric Lane, piano (3), Nord Electro and Fender Rhodes electric pianos (11); Jason Yeager, piano (11); Ryan Dugre, guitar (7); Dave “Knife” Fabris, pedal steel guitar (5, 9, 15); Rachel Massey, violin (9, 15); Brad Barrett, acoustic bass (11), electric bass (3); David Flaherty, drums (7, 13), timpani (7); Charles Burchell, drums (3), timpani (11, 13), vibraphone (13); Luke Moldof, electronics (5, 7, 9).

Recorded at Jordan Hall, New England Conservatory of Music, Boston MA, on August 24 and August 26, 2010 by Jeremy Sarna. Mixing by Jeremy Sarna. Mastering by Peter Pfister. Liner notes by Ran Blake. Graphic Design by Tony Kellers. Produced by Art Lange and Aaron Hartley.

Excerpts from 12, "Vertical Form VI” (George Russell), recorded by the Living Time Orchestra at Barbican Hall, London, March 7, 1998. Contributed by Alice Russell and Concept, Inc.; tracks excerpted by Aaron Hartley. “Cincinnati Express” is dedicated to John Hope Franklin. Special thanks to Aaron Hartley, Art Lange, Eric and Jackson Lane, John Campopiano, Jeremy Sarna, Gardiner Hartmann, Steve Mardon, Jonah Kraut, NEC, Tony Kellers, DeCtor Dutra, Sandi Peaslee, and especially Alice Norbury Russell.



to write a review