Ben Rogers' Instrumental Asylum | Reverb Rehab

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Danny Gatton Jeff Beck Link Wray

Album Links
Official website Band MySpace Page

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Surf Rock Blues: Guitar Blues Moods: Mood: Party Music
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Reverb Rehab

by Ben Rogers' Instrumental Asylum

Surf/gypsy/Tarantino rock solid pulp guitar truth and fiction - Reverb drenched guitar echoing some of the best of early 60s instrumentals, but with an extreme left turn towards the surreal.
Genre: Rock: Surf Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Mr P.C.
2:23 $0.99
2. Wet Suit Dream
3:23 $0.99
3. Torquay
2:30 $0.99
4. Prickly Pear
2:44 $0.99
5. Strawberry Fields Forever
4:25 $0.99
6. Seasons of Change
3:32 $0.99
7. Bondi Stomp
2:23 $0.99
8. Paisley Dayze
4:11 $0.99
9. All the Things You Are
2:32 $0.99
10. Goodbye Bluehaze
4:05 $0.99
11. Elegy for Pluto
3:01 $0.99
12. Ballad of Private Mitchell
3:14 $0.99
13. She's Not There
2:32 $0.99
14. 55 Customline
2:33 $0.99
15. Ginchy
1:50 $0.99
16. First Light at the Aussietron
2:38 $0.99
17. Conversations With a Frog
2:44 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
The second album from this Aussie instrumental power trio contains 17 tracks of surf/spy/guitar noir, drawn from diverse and sometimes obscure sources. The opening track, a surf/garage rendition of John Coltrane's bebop tune Mr P.C., is juxtaposed with a rowdy version of The Fireballs' surf hit Torquay, a unique interpretation of Jerome Kern’s classic All The Things You Are, and 9 original compositions.
A feature of the album is a New York/Melbourne collaboration for a reworking of the Aussie classic Seasons of Change, which was a hit for Sydney band Blackfeather in 1971. New York based drummer Al Kash has recorded a rocking new drum track for the Instrumental Asylum version of Seasons of Change. Al is a former member of Blackfeather, and played on the original hit single (and the Blackfeather album “At The Mountains of Madness”).
Another interesting inclusion on the album is the Dave Bridge/Joe Halford tune Bondi Stomp, originally on the 1963 album “Surfin’ Down Under” by legendary Australian group The Dave Bridge Trio. This new version is a heavier treatment of the original arrangement.
With this album the band branches out into a wider soundscape, while still presenting the basic live guitar/bass/drums format. Original tunes include the haunting “Goodbye Bluehaze”, penned by bassist Nikki; “55 Customline” - a tribute to American cars of the 1950s (complete with the sound of Ben’s old Ford V8 running in the background); and a Link Wray inspired rocker that celebrates the firing up of Australia’s first Synchrotron – “First Light at the Aussietron”.
Reverb Rehab: One of the top 10 album releases of 2007- Billy Pinnell, Rhythms Magazine (Australia)
“…this is a band that takes no prisoners.” – Matthew Frederick, The Age (Australia)
“Instrumental dynamite” – Peter Thomas, Big Beat of the 50s (Australia)
“Huge guitar, intense energy, and very emotional” – Phil Dirt, Reverb Central (Santa Cruz USA)
“A muscular, lovingly distorted guitar sound” – Greg Haymes, Times Union (Albany USA)
"Against the hard-driving rhythm section of Nikki Scarlett on bass and Denis Close on drums, Ben fires salvo after salvo of tastily aggressive licks…” – Alan Taylor, Pipeline (UK)
“There are no vocals on this album. They would be superfluous on material interpreted by Ben Rogers, a guitar player whose genre bending technique, taste and eclecticism place him among the world’s great guitarists.” – Billy Pinnell, Music Australia Guide (Australia)
“The overall one-two punch of dazzling instrumentals played by expert hands makes Reverb Rehab one of the most favorable guitar instrumental CDs of the millenium” – Robert Silverstein, 20th Century Guitar (USA).



to write a review