ShoreGrass | Going Home

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Robin & Linda Williams The Louvin Brothers The Nashville Bluegrass Band The Seldom Scene

Album Links
ShoreGrass on Amazon ShoreGrass on Facebook ShoreGrass Website Apple iTunes

More Artists From
United States - Connecticut

Other Genres You Will Love
Country: Bluegrass Folk: Traditional Folk Moods: Type: Acoustic
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Going Home

by ShoreGrass

Original bluegrass, folk, old-timey and early country written in the tradition as well as 2 classics, the 3rd CD by this eclectic 5-piece Connecticut band with surprising guests. When the journey's over, it's good to be GOING HOME.
Genre: Country: Bluegrass
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. The Letter
2:33 $0.99
2. Going Home
3:11 $0.99
3. Hillside Home
4:20 $0.99
4. Back in the Days
4:06 $0.99
5. Glorious Day
2:57 $0.99
6. The Weary Road
2:43 $0.99
7. Goodbye My Good Old Friend
2:01 $0.99
8. Emmalina Tasker
2:27 $0.99
9. Waiting to See You Again
4:03 $0.99
10. Ruth and Naomi
2:35 $0.99
11. December Waltz
3:16 $0.99
12. Aunt Pam's Garden
1:50 $0.99
13. Sixteen Tons
3:03 $0.99
14. I'm On My Way Back to the Old Home
3:03 $0.99
15. Soldier
2:32 $0.99
16. When Will There Be Peace
3:14 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
ShoreGrass is a bluegrass band from the Connecticut shoreline which has performed as a quintet since 1999. Their music is a lively mix of traditional bluegrass, old-time, early country, gospel and folk songs as well as original pieces reflecting their roots in contemporary music with a local flavor. The group has three lead singers plus guests who alternate leads on 3 and 4-part vocal harmonies, and that unique bluegrass blend of guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle and bass (and sometimes Dobro). Their musicianship demonstrates the range and uniqueness of each instrument as well as an unusually rich vocal blend, all delivered with the special sense of humor that marks all ShoreGrass performances.

Musicians on this recording include:

Frank Shaw (banjo, vocals): former bass player and vocalist with Clean Living, which recorded 2 albums on the Vanguard label. Winner of the 1st place old-time banjo award at the 2001 Roxbury Contest.

Barbara Shaw (guitar, vocals): writes most of the original material performed by the band. Left corporate life behind to dabble in guitar, fiddle, bass, piano, things bluegrass.

Paul Pozzi (mandolin, vocals): high tenor vocalist and Monroe-style mandolinist.

Jonathan Shaw (bass): multi-instrumentalist, multi-genre musician son of Frank and Barbara, taking time from his current national tour with a rock band to return to his roots for this recording.

Stacy Phillips (Dobro and fiddle): talented grammy winning performer ("The Great Dobro Sessions"), author of many books and videos, instructor and internationally acclaimed artist.

Bud Morrisroe (fiddle on 1,7,8): former member of Apple Country and several other fine bands.

ShoreGrass is very proud of this recording of 14 originals and 2 classics. Song styles include bluegrass, old-timey, folk, swing, gospel, country, waltz, blues, foot-tapper, tear-jerker, a cappella, instrumental, etc. No two alike and some unusual ideas presented, all written and performed in a traditional style.

1 The Letter (Barbara Shaw) 2:33 At a songwriting workshop at the Old Songs Festival in NY, Bob Franke challenged Barbara to write a song in the form of a letter. This resulted, based on real family (4 generations) and real feelings. Bob never heard it that day.

2 Going Home (Barbara Shaw) 3:11 Sights seen, lessons learned, roads traveled, it's finally good to be going home.

3 Hillside Home (Barbara Shaw) 4:20 Inspired by a scene in the Kennebec river valley in Maine, this song showed up after trying to imagine some of the stories behind the view.

4 Back in the Days (Barbara Shaw) 4:06 A brand new old-time country weeper. You've heard it before but never quite like this.

5 Glorious Day (Barbara Shaw) 2:57 A first poem at age 9 (same name) had basically the same theme. Life is good.

6 The Weary Road (Barbara & Frank Shaw) 2:43 Inspired by Rev. Gary Smith's Christmas Eve sermon based on Edmund Sears' poem "It Came Upon a Midnight Clear," using a stanza not found in the carol.

7 Goodbye, My Good Old Friend (Barbara Shaw) 2:01 Goodbye to a friend who left too soon but left much behind.

8 Emmalina Tasker (Barbara & Frank Shaw) 2:27 This song first showed up on Barbara's fiddle as a variation of "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star." Frank provided the family history and some finishing touches to the lyrics and chords.

9 Waiting to See You Again (Barbara Shaw) 4:03 Everyone has someone they wish they could see again. This song is about the wait.

10 Ruth and Naomi (Stacy Phillips) 2:35 Here's the Old Testament story about Naomi and her daughter-in-law Ruth of "whither thou goest" fame, among other important things. The original version is on Stacy's CD "From the Inside."

11 December Waltz (Barbara Shaw) 3:16 Inspired by the nostalgia and melancholy mixed with the joy of the season, there is a presence during December of those loved ones long gone, a time when memories come true.

12 Aunt Pam's Garden (Frank Shaw) 1:50 Dedicated to the kind and eccentric godmother from West Virginia with the hilltop garden.

13 Sixteen Tons (Merle Travis) 3:03 We still love this delicious old chestnut, especially now that we put the grass to it.

14 I'm On My Way Back to the Old Home (Bill Monroe) 3:03 A tribute to the man who started it all, because in some ways it all comes home to him. Many have recorded this song, but it bears repeating.

15 Soldier (Barbara Shaw) 2:32 A song about any soldier from any country at any time in history during any war. Very little ever changes.

16 When Will There Be Peace (Barbara Shaw) 3:14 This song reflects the questions, hopes and quest of many of us as we attempt to understand.

In addition to this album, ShoreGrass has two others, including "In Connecticut" and a live recording of "Songs of the Civil War Era." All are available on CDBaby as well as on the band website. See or for the latest band information.



to write a review

Marie Brewer

Going Home
My cousin sang Hillside Home to us accompanied by her autoharp and we thought it was beautiful. This prompted me - finally - to order the CD. I would recommend it on the basis of this song alone, although the others are nice, too.