Slow News Day | Louise

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Nick Lowe The Magnetic Fields Tom Petty

More Artists From
United States - Maine

Other Genres You Will Love
Pop: Pop/Rock Rock: Folk Rock Moods: Mood: Quirky
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by Slow News Day

A lively and eclectic blend of original pop, rock, and folk - reminiscent of The Beatles' White Album - with an emphasis on thoughtful, witty lyrics.
Genre: Pop: Pop/Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Louise
6:09 $0.99
2. Enough With the Questions
3:29 $0.99
3. Certain Soft Nothings
2:33 $0.99
4. Trying in the Flesh
4:16 $0.99
5. Sophie
4:58 $0.99
6. And a Visitor from Charleston
2:28 $0.99
7. That's Not the Hill
2:56 $0.99
8. Soil On My Skin
5:11 $0.99
9. Susannah
4:02 $0.99
10. Told You Not to Leave Me
4:34 $0.99
11. A Drink and a Smoke
2:09 $0.99
12. Bar of America
2:35 $0.99
13. Someone's Got to Pull the Needle Through
3:59 $0.99
14. Smile
2:31 $0.99
15. Je T'aime, Je T'aime
4:22 $0.99
16. Save the Man Who Saved the World
3:27 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
"Louise" is Slow News Day's fifth album since 2006, when songwriter Dana Pearson started recording his original compositions in the Kennebunk, Maine basement studio of musician/producer Monica Grabin. Since that first CD, "Greatest Hits," Slow News Day has basically been the name Pearson has given to the talented singers and musicians who were willing and able to record with him. This time, Slow News Day is, for all intents and purposes, The Wetsuits, the southern Maine trio Pearson has played with since 2009.

The basic arrangement of the band is Pearson on bass, Byon Yeatts on guitar, and Jim O'Neil on his Yamaha v-drums. But there's nothing like extensive liner notes to clarify things, so here goes:

1. Louise (inspired by silent film actress Louise Brooks, who famously said, "If I ever bore you, it'll be with a knife") Pearson plays acoustic guitar; guitarist Yeatts adds piano and harmony; O'Neil harmonizes; Grabin rattles a tambourine; and Chris Decato, who mastered the CD, nails the organ intro on the first take.
2. Enough wih the Questions. Pearson's on electric and acoustic guitars, and the strumstick (a real instrument, not a euphemism); O'Neil harmonizes; Grabin lays down a banjo track.
3. Certain Soft Nothings (the title of which is a phrase stolen from "Oliver Twist"). Pearson's on guitars and keyboard; Grabin harmonizes.
4. Trying in the Flesh (hastily scribbled after hearing Grabin use the phrase to describe someone). Yeatts plays a few guitars and adds a backing vocal; Pearson plays acoustic guitar; O'Neil sings backing vocal and tackles the guitar solos on his Parker Fly.
5. Sophie (written in Kennebunk Town Hall during an interminable play rehearsal). Trying to capture that vintage Donovan sound, Yeatts uses wah-wah on his Gibson Les Paul; Pearson plays acoustic guitar; Grabin layers the backing vocals.
6. And a Visitor from Charleston (watch the opening credits of "Gone with the Wind," and you'll get the song). For such a short song, it took a long time to record and mix it. The first part has Pearson on ukelele, handclaps, and bongos, while Grabin adds handclaps and an Egyptian tambourine; when O'Neil kicks in on drums for the second verse, Pearson switches to a couple of acoustic guitars and bass; by the time the song is fading, O'Neil is messing around on a couple of electric guitars as Pearson and Grabin add various percussion, including a double-headed clave and guiro.
7. That's Not the Hill (the title is a phrase heard uttered several times by Scott Stevens). Pearson's on acoustic guitar; Grabin's on tambourine; O'Neil and Yeatts add backing vocals.
8. Soil on my Skin (written while watching Robert Altman's "McCabe & Mrs. Miller") It took a while to make Pearson's Taylor acoustic guitar, in a DADDAD tuning, sound gritty; he started with an intro on his Gretsch 6120AM; Grabin plays Egyptian tambourine; O'Neil uses his djembe and an egg shaker.
9. Susannah. Grabin takes the vocal; Yeatts plays piano; Pearson's on acoutic guitar.
10. Told You Not to Leave Me (written after hearing a particularly loathsome ode to co-dependence on the radio) Don Wessels makes his first appearance on the album, playing electric guitars and singing harmony with Yeatts; Pearson plays Appalachian dulcimer and acoustic guitar.
11. A Drink and a Smoke. Grabin plays acoustic guitar live with Pearson's vocal; Grabin overdubs an autoharp.
12. Bar of America (named after such a place in Truckee, California, and written on the second floor balcony of the hotel across the street). Pearson plays O'Neil's Takamine acoustic on this one.
13. Someone's Got to Pull the Needle Through. The rhythm track of drums, acoustic guitar, and electric guitar are recorded live; Pearson, Yeatts, and O'Neil overdub vocals; Pearson adds bass played with the hardest pick known to mankind.
14. Smile (inspired by Dylan's "Talking World War III Blues") Pearson plays harmonica.
15. je t'aime, je t'aime (written on the piano) Pearson plays piano; Wessels plays bass and chromatic harmonicas; Grabin adds several backing vocals.
16. Save the Man Who Saved the World. Pearson on acoustic guitar, harmonica, and handclaps; Grabin claps, too.



to write a review