Various Artists | Splicewerk

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Art of Noise Chemical Brothers Gary Numan

More Artists From
United States - New York

Other Genres You Will Love
Electronic: Electro Avant Garde: Electronic Avant-Garde Moods: Type: Compilations
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by Various Artists

From digitally mangled pop, to addictively complicated beats, to blissful psychotronic noise, this compilation is a brilliant snapshot of the best sounds from New York City's electronic underground.
Genre: Electronic: Electro
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Waterfall - I, Synthesist (Maxx Klaxon Remix)
I, Synthesist
5:16 $0.99
2. Die With Your Boots On - Maxx Klaxon ( _vectorzero Remix)
Maxx Klaxon
5:22 $0.99
3. Letter to the World - Kochu
5:42 $0.99
4. Military Time - _vectorzero & Maxx Kaxon
_vectorzero & Maxx Klaxon
5:10 $0.99
5. Art of Survival - I, Synthesist (Vusac Remix)
I, Synthesist
4:16 $0.99
6. Static Affect - Tu
6:35 $0.99
7. Tell Me Why He's Here - The Dossier Mashup (Current_working_directory & Maxx Klaxon)
Current_working_directory & Maxx Klaxon
3:40 $0.99
8. Telepathy - I, Synthesist (Brand New Idol Remix)
I, Synthesist
5:02 $0.99
9. Authoritarian Idol Theme - Maxx Klaxon & Radio Wonderland
Maxx Klaxon & Radio Wonderland
3:38 $0.99
10. Will - Chris Ianuzzi & Thomas Watkiss
Chris Ianuzzi & Thomas Watkiss
6:06 $0.99
11. First We Take Manhattan - Maxx Klaxon (Parenthesis Remix 1.5 )
Maxx Klaxon
5:55 $0.99
12. Flutter - Tamara Yadao & Chris Burke
Tamara Yadao & Chris Burke
7:21 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Since 2006, electropop provocateur Maxx Klaxon (a.k.a. Maximus Clarke) has curated the SPLICE performance series in New York City, featuring innovative electronic musicians from around the world. This adventurous compilation features a dozen wildly diverse collaborations between SPLICE-affiliated artists, perfectly capturing the series’ spirit of “eclectic electronics”.

At a moment when commercial, formulaic “EDM” is the mainstream face of American electronica, SPLICEWERK asserts that there’s a lot more going on musically at street level. The album is kickstarted by Maxx Klaxon's own high-voltage but rough-edged electro remix of a track by his SPLICE co-curator, I, Synthesist (pop surrealist Chris Ianuzzi, noted for his past work with The Puppets and Man Parrish).

Ianuzzi contributes two more I, Synthesist remixes to the lineup: one by synthpop guru and SPLICE resident DJ Tim Heireth (of Brand New Idol) and another by politically-conscious sample-slinger Isaac Peachin (who records and performs as Vusac). And Ianuzzi offers up “Will”, an epic, dark sound tsunami co-crafted with power-noise auteur Thomas Watkiss.

SPLICEWERK includes three reworkings of tracks from Maxx Klaxon's 2005 debut, PARANOID STYLE. He also debuts a pair of brand-new songs: "Military Time" (co-produced with Javier Lopez Williams, the Peruvian-American beat-mangler whose aliases include _vectorzero and TurboTit) and "Authoritarian Idol Theme" (a joint creation with avant-pop trickster Radio Wonderland, also acclaimed as post-minimalist composer -- and They Might Be Giants remixer -- Joshua Fried).

Accomplished multi-instrumentalist Chris Burke (renowned as chiptune maestro Glomag) is represented by “Letter to the World”, a shining melodic spiral co-produced with Haeyoung Kim (8-bit idol Bubblyfish), and by “Flutter”, an oceanic expanse of processed guitars, composed with downtown experimentalist Tamara Yadao. Yadao also collaborates with multimedia artist Jeremy Slater on the finely sculpted ambience of “Static Affect”. And Slater, under his Parenthesis pseudonym, remixes Maxx Klaxon’s “First We Take Manhattan”, adding a ghostly sheen to the pounding urgency of this Leonard Cohen cover.

The links between these artists are as dense as the tangle of patch cords on an old-school Moog... and the level of talent mixed into each cut is accordingly multiplied. A perfect example is “Tell Me Why He’s Here”, a hypnotic mashup of tracks by current_working_directory (Brooklyn-based electrogaze poet Ted Hayes) and album producer Klaxon. But the Klaxon track, “Here For One Reason”, is itself a radical rework of a live recording by Finnish electro primitivists Club Telex Noise Ensemble and art-rock superstars Chicks on Speed. The sonic surgery is executed by producer Peter Riley, of neo-wave duo The Dossier.

The SPLICE electronic performance series has helped to keep the spirit of boundary-smashing exploration alive and well. And the SPLICEWERK compilation brings the results to the world: artists joining forces to test the limits of analog and digital technology, and to create something more than just a homogenized dancefloor commodity.

“SPLICEWERK is full of songs that demonstrate the ongoing creative contributions of American musicians. ... It’s a collection that highlights the brilliant experiments that continue to fuel the endless avenues of electronic music.”
--Giosue Impellizzeri,



to write a review