Subseven | Unreleased Recordings 1992-1997

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Of Monsters and Men Soul Coughing Tribe of Heaven

More Artists From
United States - Virginia

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Funk Rock Folk: Alternative Folk Moods: Type: Vocal
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Unreleased Recordings 1992-1997

by Subseven

A sweeping synthesis of melody, harmony and driving guitar; and lyrics that penetrate far deeper than the usual pop fare. All songs Copyright 2013 Mark Roebuck and Michael Colley
Genre: Rock: Funk Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Jackrabbit
4:16 $0.99
2. Talked About It
4:41 $0.99
3. Ego Merchant
3:11 $0.99
4. Blood On the River
4:35 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
These songs were written and recorded from 1993 to 1997 during a time in which Mark Roebuck and Mike Colley were evolving their group Burning Core into the less dense and more melodic SubSeven. Somehow lost between these projects, they rank nonetheless as some of the finest songs conceived by Roebuck and Colley.

Mark Roebuck, Mike Colley and Warren Richardson formed Burning Core in the Fall of 1989. Mark had recently come off the painful break-up of his power-pop group the Deal and had begun working with Dave Matthews on their dark acoustic project Tribe of Heaven, 'Imagine We Were.' With Burning Core, he teamed up with two very experienced Charlottesville musicians to set out in an even more strikingly different direction.

At the time, Mike Colley, songwriter, keyboardist, lead guitarist and vocalist in Burning Core, had 12 years experience with bands from both the East Coast and the San Francisco Bay area. Colley’s previous studio experience included music sequencing and production work for a variety of other artists and producers. His guitar work had appeared on everything from CNN and National Geographic Explorer to countless recordings, jingles and demos.

Warren Richardson, lead vocals for Burning Core, was also a drummer, bass player and guitarist. He plays African instruments such as bilafon, djimbe, katero and the saba drum and, before Burning Core, had studied with master drummers Abdlou Kounte and Darrell Rose, then-Nashville Percussionist of the Year. Richardson had appeared in opening acts for major groups such as Le Vert, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Loketo, Bonedaddy’s, Bhunda Boys, and John McCutcheon.

Burning Core took the varied experience and enthusiasm of these three musicians to a new level, blending rap, metal, funk, rock and jazz roots into a cutting edge sound and style. From the unstoppable dance grooves of Don’t Strangle the Child and Step Don’t Stand, to the compelling update of Times They Are a Changing, the band moved into uncharted waters with a sense of honesty and purpose. Roebuck has said: “ Mike and I really felt like we were pushing the envelope in the early days of Burning Core, like we were inventing something that hadn’t existed before that point.” The music varied from the atonal fury of such songs as Beast and W.B.F. to more melodic pieces such as World Gone Wild and Better Than This. One song, Do the Same, was co-written with Peter Griesar, a Charlottesville musician most notable as the early keyboardist in the Dave Matthews Band. Peter plays an unforgettable piano solo at the song's conclusion.

Although a part-time project, Burning Core secured a New York publisher and placed songs on several compilation CDs in Europe. In 1992 the band added Rob Walker on guitar, Garry Mills on drums, Houston Ross on bass, and Victor Brown on vocals. The band opened shows for both Dave Matthews Band and Public Enemy, and received an honorable mention in the urban/rap category of the 1990 Billboard International Songwriting Contest for Don’t Strangle the Child.

Burning Core broke up in 1996, or more accurately evolved after a period of dormancy into the group Sub Seven, a rap/rock quartet made up of Roebuck, Colley, Mills with Pete Adamy on bass. Mark and Mike recorded the four songs on this EP while recruiting the new members for the band they were forming.They eventually put out ‘Wild Hallucinations From the Deep Sleep Deprivation’ in 1998 ( but did not include any of their earlier material. SubSeven disbanded in 1999 when Adamy took a teaching position in New England. Today Mike Colley records music from his home studio, collaborating with fellow musicians from as far away as San Francisco. Warren Richardson was for several years a member of the Broadway ensemble Stomp, living in New York City during this period. He is currently living in Dusseldorf, Germany. Mark Roebuck went on to play in Big Circle, a Charlottesville ensemble made up of fellow Charlottesville musicians Charlie Pastorfield, Rusty Speidel, Jim Ralston, Tim Anderson, and Tony Fischer. Their 2004 CD ‘Things May Change’ ( garnered excellent reviews and was given a 4-Star Rating by the All Music Guide. Mark Roebuck has released two projects since the end of Big Circle: 2005's ‘Some Half-Remembered Thing’ with Noonday Ruin ( and the 2011 acoustic project ‘Midnight To Morning’ ( done in collaboration with Tony Fischer.
All songs Copyright 2013 Mark Roebuck and Michael Colley



to write a review