Order 3 or more CDs and get 1¢ domestic shipping through 03/31/2020.
Matt Small | Matt Small's Chamber Ensemble, "On the Verge of Sentiment"

Go To Artist Page

Album Links

More Artists From
United States - California - SF

Other Genres You Will Love
Avant Garde: Modern Composition Jazz: Chamber Jazz Moods: Type: Instrumental
There are no items in your wishlist.

Matt Small's Chamber Ensemble, "On the Verge of Sentiment"

by Matt Small

A collection of compositions for piano, violin, clarinet & bass clarinet, soprano & tenor saxophones, and electric & upright bass.
Genre: Avant Garde: Modern Composition
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 20% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. The Gentle Rise and Fall of Lady Mannequin
6:41 $0.99
2. The Dark Prince of Nothing
4:30 $0.99
3. The Wind Subsides (Armenian Traditional)
7:00 $0.99
4. The Donkeys of Late Spring and the Bludgeoning of Invisible Men
10:24 $0.99
5. Masticating Luddites
4:27 $0.99
6. The Broken Men of Northern Idaho Eat Silk Flowers
6:00 $0.99
7. Block of Flesh, Block of Wood
5:21 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
“With the complexity of modern classical music mixed with the improvised vitality of jazz, the music Small writes is distinctly original.” ~ The Oakland Tribune

“Accomplished improvisers, and conservatory trained, the musicians (of Matt Small’s Chamber Ensemble) are all capable of exploring Small’s vision of music with one foot in the modern classical world and one foot in modern jazz. Rhythmically assertive and harmonically dense, his compositions often require the Ensemble to play with a rock band’s dynamics.” ~ Contra Costa Times

Matt Small - acoustic and electric bass
Steve Adams - soprano saxophone (tracks 2-4)
Rachel Condry - clarinet and bass clarinet
Kymry Esainko - piano (tracks 2-4)
Paula Dreyer - piano (track 1)
Mitch Marcus - soprano saxophone (tracks 1, 6)
Sarah Jo Zaharako - violin

All songs written by Matt Small (©2005)
(except "the wind subsides" - arranged by Small)
Recorded by Karen Stackpole and Jeff Parsons
Mixed and Mastered by Myles Boisen
Produced by Matt Small and Jeff Parsons
CD artwork by Kim Boekbinder

For more info: www.mattsmall.org



to write a review