The Dutch | Four

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Blur ELO The Beatles

Album Links
Band website The Dutch on Google+ The Dutch on Twitter The Dutch on Facebook

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Pop: Britpop Rock: Modern Rock Moods: Type: Political
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by The Dutch

The fourth album by Amsterdam based pop group The Dutch after a long break contains 14 brand new songs. A motley crue of rich melodies and colourful sounds, with lyrics that cover both personal, narrative and social themes.
Genre: Pop: Britpop
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Money
4:00 $0.99
2. Brighton and Hove
3:59 $0.99
3. Isle of U
3:33 $0.99
4. Mr. Taxi Driver
3:48 $0.99
5. You Can't Be Wrong
4:22 $0.99
6. Fine Shields We Are
3:39 $0.99
7. Left of Centre
4:15 $0.99
8. This Train Is About to Explode
3:43 $0.99
9. Beat the Drum
4:18 $0.99
10. Basically Your Love
4:41 $0.99
11. Is This Your House
2:45 $0.99
12. Copy That Line
3:37 $0.99
13. Bye, Ministry Man
3:26 $0.99
14. Father
3:21 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Four is, like the title says, the fourth album by the Amsterdam based pop group The Dutch. It carries 14 new songs written by the four members of the band: Hans Croon (vocals and guitars), Bert Croon (keyboards and vocals), Jan de Kruijf (bass guitar and vocals) and Klaas Jonkmans (drums and vocals). All lyrics are written by Hans Croon. Some songs are narrative, some more personal and some are political. Like the first track Money, an indictment to Gordon Gekko's message that greed is good, Copy That Line, about online privacy, and the first single Fine Shields We Are, which is about the walls and fences popping up all over Europe to keep refugees out. More personal songs are Isle Of U (if you don't know where that is, you're lost), Basically Your Love, about growing older, and Father.

The music pretty much dictated itself: The Dutch does not follow a straight path or formula but instead, when a song calls out for a string quartet, a french horn or a banjo, it's there. Without limiting themselves to the traditional rock instrument setting, The Dutch created a rich sound full of surprising details and harmonies.

The Dutch was founded in the eighties. Back then the band released three albums (Working In Los Alamos, This Is Welfare and Under The Surface) and a couple of hit singles in the Netherlands, including This Is Welfare in 1983.
In 2014, the band reunited as the back catalogue albums were remastered and distributed online. They started writing and recording new songs during 2015 and 2016.
The album was produced by Wout de Kruif and The Dutch at Wedgeview studios and State Of Sound studio in the Netherlands between March and August 2016, and mastered by Darius van Helfteren at Amsterdam Mastering.

A number of awesome artists contributed to this album: Yalisha Mustamu (backing vocals), Jeroen van Genuchten (tenor saxophone), Wouter Schueler (bariton saxophone), Luuk Hof (trumpet), Cees Trappenburg (trumpet), Alfons Houweling (trumpet) and Jochem van Hoogdalem (french horn).

If you like the album, please share it with your friends, join The Dutch on the various social media and if you like, drop us a line and let us know what you think!



to write a review