Order 3 or more physical items and get 1¢ postal shipping
The Senseless | The Buried Life

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Mithras Strapping Young Lad The Berzerker

More Artists From
AUSTRALIA - Victoria

Other Genres You Will Love
Metal/Punk: Death Metal Metal/Punk: Grindcore Moods: Mood: Dreamy
There are no items in your wishlist.

The Buried Life

by The Senseless

The third solo release by longtime Berzerker member Sam Bean is an extreme but uplifting journey. The music has been described as Morbid Angel munching molly, Emperor on eccies, and Heavy Mental. Something different to the usual grind.
Genre: Metal/Punk: Death Metal
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. This Town Will Kill Us
3:14 $0.99
2. Safe Passage
5:23 $0.99
3. Anywhere but Here
4:51 $0.99
4. Idle Wild
6:26 $0.99
5. Brutum Fulmen
2:07 $0.99
6. Neon Lights
3:11 $0.99
7. Zui Sheng Meng Si
4:09 $0.99
8. Apophenia
5:22 $0.99
9. Everything You Asked For
5:30 $0.99
10. Lifequake
4:09 $0.99
11. Reclaiming Valhalla
3:10 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
The Senseless is the extreme metal solo act of Sam Bean (The Berzerker, The Antichrist Imperium, ex-Mithras). Everything started back in 2004 with a bunch of demos that Sam would give out as a ‘christmas card’ to bands he’d toured with. This caught the attention of Anticulture Records in the UK who signed him. The first release “In the Realm of the Senseless” came out May 2007, with production by Luke Kenny (The Berzerker), mastering by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, The Wildhearts) and guest performances by Matt Wilcock (Akercocke) and Ol Drake (Evile). A video for ‘Vacation’ was released and appeared on Kerrang! TV and MTV, and this new style of metal was dubbed Heavy Mental and Happy Metal. The response was mixed. Some of the press loved the chaotic and joyful style. Others, such as Kerrang! found it way too fast to understand.

Sam started working with Leon Macey (Mithras) on the followup album “The Floating World” in 2008. They parted with Anticulture Records over the label’s digital direction, and rehearsed the impossible new material for three years. Recording was with Leon on drums as well as production duties and Sam doing everything else, with another guest appearance from Matt Wilcock and Ol Drake. The album was released independently and needless to say, the response was similar to the previous release: half the metal scene went WTF, and the other half loved it.

“The Buried Life” is the the third release by The Senseless. Since the previous album, Sam has moved from the UK back to Australia then from Adelaide to Melbourne. This time, he decided to do an album completely on his own with no guest appearances and an unknown producer: Adam Chapman from Blackdawn Studios, Sweden. This album is darker than the previous due to a number of deaths among Sam’s friends and family during recording, but still has light elements. ‘Safe Passage’ is a beautiful elegy done in the style of Bolt Thrower, and ‘Idlewild’ transforms from a blistering grind song into the most joyful black metal this side of Deafheaven. Sam shows he is still one of the most extreme musicians around with ‘Brutum Fulmen’, but also closes the album with the catchy and forgiving ‘Reclaiming Valhalla’.



to write a review