The Unknown New | Thieves

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Bill Frisell Brian Blade Fellowship Pat Metheny

More Artists From
United States - Illinois

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Modern Creative Jazz Folk: Appalachian Folk Moods: Featuring Guitar
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by The Unknown New

The Chicago-based group's second album furthers the exploration of original jazz compositions set in an intentionally pop/folk approach to instrumentation and production... this time with the inclusion of orchestral strings on a handful of songs.
Genre: Jazz: Modern Creative Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Halocline
5:00 $1.29
2. Wolkig
5:50 $1.29
3. Beware the Fogs and Clears
7:17 $1.29
4. Gemütliches Fernweh
7:04 $1.29
5. Thieves
7:17 $1.29
6. Depth vs. Doubt
2:59 $1.29
7. Hot Coals
6:33 $1.29
8. Las Olas de Guanacaste
7:42 $1.29
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
THIEVES, The Unknown New's second full-length album, picks up where SUNKEN GARDEN left off. Featuring 8 new pieces by Paul Mutzabaugh, the tone of the record is a bit darker in nature than the debut release. The album again features the same core musicians and employs a chamber string ensemble on 3 of the tracks. This record continues to display the composer's love for both the harmonic and rhythmic depth of jazz blended with the vast possibilities of lushly orchestrated cinematic pop/folk production.


Paul Mutzabaugh - electric bass, secondary acoustic guitar, nylon-string guitar, auxiliary percussion, field drum
Rich Stitzel - percussion, field drum
Jon Deitemyer - drumset, field drum
Mike Pinto - electric, acoustic, & synth guitars
Chris Siebold - lap steel & electric guitars
Jim Tashjian - acoustic guitar

Jen Lowe - violin (1, 2, 4)
Katherine Andrick - violin (1, 2, 4)
Heather Boehm - viola (2), violin (4)
Anny Moravec - viola (1, 2, 4)
Cheryl Wilson - viola (1, 2, 4)
Wendy Cotton - cello (1, 2, 4)

Vijay Tellis-Nayak - principal recording engineer
Brandon Miller - recording engineer
Josh Richter - recording engineer
Brian Schwab - mixing and mastering engineer
Thor Uremovich - graphic designer
Ryan Bennett - photographer

composed, arranged, and produced by Paul Mutzabaugh



to write a review