The Worthless Son-in-Laws | No. 8 Wire

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Ryan Adams Son Volt The Jayhawks

More Artists From
United States - North Carolina

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: College Rock Rock: Americana Moods: Type: Lyrical
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

No. 8 Wire

by The Worthless Son-in-Laws

No. 8 Wire is the second full-length recording from the Worthless Son-in-Laws, recorded at the Fidelitorium with Mitch Easter, with songs inspired by wayward adolescence, snail-mail, evolution, Edward Abbey, and ships sailing from New Zealand.
Genre: Rock: College Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title's physical copies and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. All Your Might
3:10 $0.99
2. Not That Far
3:52 $0.99
3. And Now for the Good News
4:49 $0.99
4. Things You Say
3:38 $0.99
5. The Luddite
3:16 $0.99
6. Origin
3:48 $0.99
7. New York Times
5:06 $0.99
8. Francesca the Field of Flowers in Our House
4:21 $0.99
9. Still Life With Cake
3:19 $0.99
10. Waffle Joint
3:23 $0.99
11. Last July
4:01 $0.99
12. My Pocketknife Says "Life Is Strange..."
5:00 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Basic description:
Alt.Indie-rock from the mountains of Western North Carolina. The Worthless Son-in-Laws blend truck-driving rockers with pastoral daydream soundtracks and meditative, melody-laden pop songs.

"The Worthless Son-in-Laws fuse their laid-back roots sound with the jangle-pop sounds of NC band the dB's and Chris Stamey, while also recalling Son Volt and possibly a hint of the Decemberists."--Shout Magazine

"One of the High Country’s premiere alternative country bands."--Mountain Times

The Worthless Son-in-Laws are a Boone, North Carolina-based band formed and baptized with their grammatically incorrect moniker in the wee hours of 2004. They play Appalachian Mountain Indie-Rock, which, translated into bio-mash-up language, means it's like XTC sharing a VW mini-bus with Ryan Adams, reading copies of A Separate Peace, All Quiet on the Western Front, and old Mad magazines that they borrowed from Wilco. Or early REM siamese-twinned with Lynyrd Skynyrd for a revisioning of the Dazed and Confused soundtrack. Or Joni Mitchell ghostwriting the autobiography of Little Feat.

Jimmy Davidson (acoustic guitar/vocals) and Rob Brown (electric guitar/vocals) write songs about t-shirt shops, Mississippi highways, weddings, and antique televisions. Jimmy draws from his work experiences and flips through Bryan Garner’s Dictionary of Modern American Usage for inspiration, while Rob’s muse is his latent desire to be a truck driver (he is, in truth, a university professor). Jimmy used to play toy drums and acoustic guitar with songwriter Vic Chesnutt. Rich Crepeau (bass guitar, PhD) plays bass and writes a sinister country-punk number his own self now and then. And, he’s on the Boone Board of Adjustment.

The Worthless Son-in-Laws played at Merlefest 2007. Merlefest music director Claire Armbruster wrote on the Merlefest discussion boards: “I think that the hot new bands for 2007 [include]...the Worthless Son-in-Laws....They’ve all just knocked my socks off.” There was no mention of the suitcase full of unmarked bills. The Son-in-Laws also play around the Carolinas and sometimes in Tennessee. They have a new CD called “No. 8 Wire” which was recorded with Mitch Easter and an old CD called "Sort of Back to Having a Life."

Band Members:
Jimmy Davidson: vocals, acoustic guitar
Rob Brown: electric guitar, vocals
Rich Crepeau: bass guitar
Dave Brewer: drums

Additional musicians on No. 8 Wire:
Mitch Easter: electric guitar
Melissa Reaves: violin



to write a review